Fripp Trip: Part 1

Something weird is happening. I haven’t been using my camera on this vacation. At all. I blame Instagram! I know, I’m late to the party but I’m honestly obsessed with this App. If you have it, add me: “presley_” (Yes, the underscore is part of my name. Kinda mad someone already had Presley, but I’ll deal.) Anyway, I guess I should recap what we’ve done so far. Since I have no “real” photos, my Instagram pics will have to do the trick.

My friend Mal and I got to Fripp Sunday afternoon… and promptly took a nap. We are getting old ;)!  When we woke up, we headed out to dinner at a restaurant called Steamers. It was pretty low-key and perfect for old folks like us. We both got crab legs, brocoli, sweet potato fries, and a super sweet corn muffin (almost too sweet).  Oh, and some radioactive butter, which I pushed aside. I also ordered a Blue Moon at dinner, but couldn’t finish it because of my huge meal… which was a bummer, because I love it!

After dinner, we took a ride around the island in the golf cart. We had such a great time. If you’ve ever been to Myrtle Beach, it was just like driving around the “strip” except everyone was in golf carts. All the teens were driving around trying to meet each other, but you could tell none of them had the nerve to speak. Hilarious. We also met Bambi and it made my night!

After our little joy ride, we took a walk on the beach and then decided it was time for bed. I wanted to get up and run in the morning and I knew staying up extremely late would only give me an excuse not to. Luckily, I fell asleep at a decent hour and was able to get up for my run. Please look at my eyes in the following picture. Are they even open?

It was already sunny and hot. Blech. But I ran about 3.5 miles before dragging my butt back in the house. Half way through my run, I passed the most handsome lil’ buck. (Can you tell I’m obsessed with these deer down here? Sorry, but these posts will be deer heavy.)

When I got back, I hit up Mal’s Bender Ball for a quick ab session… and yeah, I pretty much hate him. He’s the ball of death. At least I had an all carb breakfast to look forward to… what? I’m on vacation! :) I had zuchini bread with butter and an everything bagel with cream cheese. YUM.

After breakfast, we headed out to the beach! We spent the entire afternoon laying out, reading, and taking walks on the beach. At some point, we took a break for lunch. It was random to say the least. I had an everything bagel with muenster cheese, sliced tomatoes, an apple, a kiwi, and a piece of caramel bar for dessert! I love plates of food with a little taste of everything.

After we were tan and tired, we headed into the house to shower and relax until dinner. We had eggplant parm at the house… it was SO good! Along with the parm, I had a salad and a glass of wine. Perfect meal.

After dinner, we headed outside to finish our books… and our bottle of wine! ;) I finished up Water for Elephants. I loved it! We also fed some deer… and I got a little flirty. Bahaha.

We had a few beers and then went to bed, because like I mentioned earlier, we are 95 years old. Atleast I stayed up late enough to see the moon.

5 responses to “Fripp Trip: Part 1

  1. Hahaha, I’m ALL for the deer-heavy posts and carb-only meals. Two of my favorite things. :) Glad you’re having fun, girly!

  2. Ahhhh….Myrtle Beach!! I’ve never been, but have been considering it!! What are your recommendations?

    • Myrtle Beach is fun… It can be crazy or low-key just depending on where you stay :) but we were in Fripp this week, which is definitely the place to go to relax!!

  3. Pingback: Fripp Trip: Last Day! |

  4. Pingback: Running on Empty |

Leave a Reply

