3 Mile Beat Down

Monday night I went to bed planning to finally get a longer run in. I was so prepared, I even laid my clothes out to make sure I could just hop out of bed and hit the road. So Tuesday morning when I woke up, I was sure it was going to happen. I was so, so wrong. I was pouring sweat while stretching. Missed sign number one. There was a huge cloud looming in the distance. Sign number two. I should have known that run was about to suck. Majorly.

I got about a mile into my run before I started feeling extremely hot. I know I sound like a broken record talking about the heat down here, but Tuesday was ridiculous. I usually have an easy time pacing myself and controlling my breathing, but yesterday felt like the first time I ever tried to run. Two miles in, it started to drizzle. Sweet! I thought for sure that would help cool me off… Wrong. It became a SAUNA out there! I knew I was about a mile from the house so I picked up speed to get back. Aaaand then the sky opened up and I was in the middle of a freaking torrential downpour. I’m terrified of storms and lightning so I sprinted as fast a I could back to the house. My lungs were on fire by the time I got back and I basically collapsed and melted into the floor! I’m starting to think I’m not made for running in Florida. Props to anyone who does it! For real. Now I’ve decided that I am on vacation and if I don’t want to run until I get home, I don’t have to! :) Ahh, I feel better just saying that.

See, I melted.

After my epic fail of a run, we waited for the rain to fade and then we packed up and headed to the beach! We stopped for lunch on the way at a hole in the wall called B.O.’s Fish Wagon. Sounds appetizing right? It’s basically a little lean-to in the middle of a parking lot. And it was awesome! The grungiest places always have the best food.

I ordered the fried shrimp with a side salad… and shared a basket of fries with Ryne. So good!

We even had a visitor at the restaurant… Don’t worry I shared some of our fries.

Once we were sufficiently stuffed, we headed off to Smather’s Beach. We spent the afternoon lounging around, posing for a million pictures, and watching the boys toss the football around.

Before we left, I took a break for a ginormous shaved ice. I ordered a mix of strawberry and vanilla, with “cream” on top. I’d never ordered shaved ice with cream, so I didn’t really know what to expect. This junk was pure sugar. And I loved it!

After the sun wore us out, we headed back to the house for dinner. I had leftover boiled shrimp, a baked potato, asparagus, and the creamiest corn bread ever.

Then we all headed out for another night of shark fishing. I basically just sit out there and get annihilated by mosquitoes for the sake of spending time with Ryne. I’m taking a stand… he can fish alone now!! :)

5 responses to “3 Mile Beat Down

  1. Sorry about your run! I woke up this morning intending to run but I was so tired and the heat kept creeping up. So I hoped on the treadmill and just did 2 miles. I figured that was better than 0 miles, plus, I didn’t feel like regretting going out in the heat and being KOed all day! You are super tanned girl! I need to get out in the sun!!!

  2. Hmm..your past 3 posts just showed up in my Reader now…so weird!

    It looks like you’re having sooo much fun; I want to be in Florida! You and Ryne are too cute in your pictures. :)

    And I love the name of the restaurant, haha. :)

  3. Oh girl, don’t you worry! Vacation is to get relaxed, if you relax from running, great. If you relax sitting on the beach with your girls, great! Do what you want!!… Those pictures are AMAZING! :P WOW!!!
    Have fun with the girls…. and the boys too, I guess ;)

  4. I am impressed you did the 3 miles! :)

    Plus you’re on vacation – the fact the you ran at all is awesome! And I am super envious of your wicked tan.

  5. Pingback: Mental Health Days |

Leave a Reply

