Our Growing Family: Bringing Buddy Home!

Recently Ryne and I have been talking about expanding our little family of two. It wasn’t until we were spending time in Key West that we started seriously discussing adding a new member to our family. I had spent the afternoon walking around downtown with the girls when we saw a small pet shop. There were about ten puppies for sale, all priced over 1,000 dollars. Ridiculous right?! They were cute, though!

No matter how cute those little puppies were, I honestly knew we were going to rescue a dog. No doubt about it in my mind. It just took a little convincing to get Ryne to agree, because he has wanted a Shiba Inu for a while. I just can’t justify buying a puppy from a breeder when I know that there are so many in need of good homes. Yesterday we decided we were going to drive to a nonprofit shelter in Columbia to look at a few dogs, just to see what size/breed we might eventually want. There were so many adorable dogs and puppies. This pen in particular caught our attention:

They were all going to be too large for us, though, so we kept looking! A little further into the building, we saw a boy holding the most adorable puppy we had ever seen. We were smitten! We couldn’t believe someone had gotten there right before we did and picked him out. We went to the pen where the boy had found the puppy and played with his brothers, but they were missing that “something” the first puppy had. We basically stood there pouting and as we were getting ready to leave, we saw the boy put the puppy back into the pen and walk off. The boy’s mother had decided against it. I wish I could say that I felt bad for the kid, but in all honesty I was having a hard time not diving in the pen and grabbing the puppy right in front of him. We waited until he left and scooped up our new baby!

Buddy’s first Instagram (haha):

It is so like us to just “go look” at something and then end up buying it. We are impulse purchasers for sure! At least we knew we would have gotten one soon anyway… so at least we were somewhat prepared for the night ahead of us. After buying all of the essentials, we drove our eight week old baby boy home for his first night at his new home. First up on the agenda? A bath! Buddy stunk like you wouldn’t believe…

After getting fresh and clean, he played, ate, and napped for the next several hours. Around 11 pm Ryne headed off to bed because he had to get up for work the next day at 4:30… so puppy sitting fell into my hands. And let me tell you, this thing was a handful! Wait until you see where I had the pleasure of “sleeping” last night. If he woke up and didn’t see me, he would scream bloody freaking murder! It was the saddest and most maddening night of my life. I felt bad for him, but I also felt a little bad for myself.

This morning Buddy wasn’t being as active as he had been last night. I figured he was just worn out from all the activity of the day before; however, he quickly lost interest in food, playing, and even his water bowl. He couldn’t hold anything down, so he just stopped trying. Poor baby was so sick, but he somehow managed to make it to his potty pads each time. I drove him to the shelter and they tested a few things and sent us home with some deworming meds. Here’s to hoping they work! If he’s not eating by tomorrow morning I’m taking him to the vet… I can’t stand to see him like this. I got absolutely nothing accomplished today, but I’m okay with that. I didn’t want to let him out of my sight for a second. Tonight we are going to take it easy and hopefully have a better night’s sleep than last night. See y’all tomorrow!

14 responses to “Our Growing Family: Bringing Buddy Home!

  1. He is adorable!! Welcome to being a “fur-mom” … :)

    Chris and I got our first dog the same way. We were just going to look but I couldn’t leave Trigger behind! We brought him home right away.

    Sometimes it takes the pup a little while to get adjusted to their new home. When we brought Bailey home she wouldn’t eat or play for a couple of days because she was scared and unsure of her surroundings. He might just need to adjust!

    BUT I always error on the side of caution with my babies and get them to the vet if they are acting funny.

    Good luck with the sleeping thing – it was awhile before we got a decent night sleep. Having a puppy will prepare you for one day having babies. Trust me!

  2. I just found your blog! Can’t wait to keep reading. Your new pup is adorable :)

  3. YAY!! Adorable puppy!! Buddy will have a great home I’m sure. I remember our first night with Diesel (our Boxer) and I literally cried. It was so stressful….he cried and cried. My hubby took him into the extra bed and slept with him. 2 1/2 years later we have a big ole Boxer that sleeps smack in the middle of the bed with us, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!!

  4. Awe congrats to the new mom. Haha I love “Buddy’s first Instagram” it reminded me of a baby’s first sonogram. He is too cute. Hope he feels better soon! & thank you for rescuing him! I feel the same exact way. There are just so many pups out there that need a home & I think Buddy found a great one

  5. Awww, you’re such a good puppy mommy! I remember the early days of having a pup (although I was little and therefore my dad had the pleasure of dealing with her), and it’s tough. I really hope Buddy is feeling better!!!

    This makes me want to get a dog even more! :)

  6. I just said “AWW!” out loud at my desk. Woops.

  7. I just stumbled across your blog, and I am liking it already :)
    Your new puppy is SO CUTE! My boyfriend and I are also looking to expand our little fam, but are struggling with what kind of dog to get. We’re thinking not too big, not too small…and I gotta say – Buddy looks just right! What kind is he? And how big do you think he will get?

    Rescue is definitely the way to go!

    • They said the mom was a Griffon Vendeen (I had to google it!) and that the father was most likely a beagle… their best guess was around 20-40 lbs (wide range, I know.)

      I’m interested to see what he’ll end up looking like…

  8. He is the cutest thing I have ever seen! How big is he supposed to get?
    I completely agree with you on getting a dog from a shelter vs. a breeder. Especially since some shelters euthanize them. Plus non-purebred dogs are smarter :)

    • They are guessing somewhere between 20 and 40 lbs… but we’ll see! I’m hoping on the smaller side, but it will be interesting to see how he ends up :)

Leave a Reply

