Half Marathon Plan… Maybe?

Today I realized that I have extremely bad timing. I’ve been cooped up in the house all week with our sick puppy so I’ve had some time to toy around with a few training plans for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half in Savannah. I based my plan off of Hal Higdon’s intermediate plan. Actually, it would be more honest of me to say that I used his exact plan but switched the days of my long runs, incorporated my other races, and “dumbed” it down for myself (including removing several “rest days” because I’ll just end up using them when I want).

training_plan

I also know that I will not be following this exactly. Why? Because I looked at the date of the first run and it perfectly coincides with my first day of teaching fourth grade. Awesome. Like I won’t already be completely stressed out and exhausted. So I’m going to use my handy lil’ chart as a guideline. (Oh, and I’m sure I won’t actually run the full distance the week before the race. That’s just how the numbers came out. And I was too lazy to change them! )I’ve already been stressing out about having to run and I am not going to allow this race to kill my enthusiasm for a hobby that I really love. If it becomes too much of a job, I’m going to toss the plan and just make sure I up my mileage each week. After all, I’m not competing in the freaking Olympic Trials… this race should be fun! So to sum this word-vomit up, I may or may not be using this plan. And I wasted a lot of your time explaining that. Forgive me?!

Puppy update: Buddy started getting sick again last night and couldn’t sleep at all! I think he was terrified he was going to have an accident in the bed… bless his heart. He was also sneezing uncontrollably! I took him to the vet this afternoon and had him checked out.

SAM_3121

Check out my lovely ensemble… I haven’t worn real clothes since Sunday. Well, that’s a lie. I put on “real clothes” yesterday for a luncheon at school, but I didn’t get dressed until 10am and I changed back into shorts and a t-shirt by 2pm. Pathetic, right?

Anyway, back to the Budster. We arrived at the vet’s office to the screams of several dogs. I’m serious, it sounded like a torture chamber. It was traumatizing for me, but I’m not sure how Buddy felt about it. He didn’t tell me. Aaaand then we were taken to a room and saw this:

photo(15)

I know it’s just a scale, but it looked super creepy and I don’t think Buddy liked it very much. See, he looks pretty pitiful:

photo(16)

When I originally called the office, they said I should just drop him off.  Thankfully, when I got there they were ahead of schedule and were able to see him right away. Which meant I could stay with him! Although, I think I just freaked him out even more by being there and acting more terrified than he was. (When I have children, I am so going to be that creepy, over-involved parent that basically ruins their lives. Muahaha!) After checking him out, the doctor explained to me that Buddy is suffering from colitis and has to take antibiotics and probiotics for the next few days and should be fine! Buddy took a dose of each while at the office and felt better by the time we got home. He felt good enough to model:

SAM_3116

Now we are going to celebrate the good news with a few drinks and a movie. Ryne is out picking a movie up as we speak. I’m crossing my fingers for a chick flick! Smile

11 responses to “Half Marathon Plan… Maybe?

  1. So glad Buddy has a diagnosis!

    I definitely didn’t follow my training plan exactly so don’t stress if you have to be flexible! You’ll be fine :)

    Super jealous of your mud run – I want to do one SO bad! That and my next half are going to be my “get the baby weight off” plan. Haha.

  2. Awww, poor Buddy! Was it the colitis the whole time? So glad you know what’s wrong though and can fix him up. :)

    Good luck with training!

    • They think the Mona Vie irritated him and caused it to be an issue :( I’m going to get in touch with the shelter and tell them to contact the people who adopted his brothers because they might have the same problem!

  3. Blonde on a Mission

    omg, your puppy is so adorable! Like I’m seriously melting. I hope he gets better soon!

    And I believe in sweatpants forever. If I don’t have to leave my house, it’s comfy clothes until I go out and then come home & change back into them. So sexy, lol.

  4. Oh bless that little puppy’s heart…. I just want to pick him up and cuddle him he’s so gosh darn cute! … Hope he gets better realllly soon!!!
    Crossing my fingers that you got your chick flick! :)

  5. I still need to find a good half training plan. Is it bad that I’m intimidated by all the stuff other than running. Even just the short forms of the other training items you have to do, I have no idea what they are! I’m a running loser :( haha

  6. Pingback: Banana Peach Muffins |

  7. Pingback: Just dropping in… |

  8. Pingback: I’m Covered in Glue | Run Pretty

Leave a Reply

