Sunday Splurges and Rest Day Guilt

This morning, I decided to nix a run I had planned because it was already hotter than hell and I was ridiculously sore from yesterday’s full body workout. After relaxing all morning, I got ready to head to my friend Logan’s bridal shower. (I know, I actually put some effort into getting dressed… and get this, I even curled my hair. Logan’s just that special!) I posed with Buddy (yep, still sneaking him into every post) and headed to the store to pick up some last minute party essentials.

SAM_3139

photo(29)

Anytime I purchase moscato, I immediately turn into Waka Flocka Flame. After singing “No Hands” over and over as I walked to my car, I was pretty pumped for a party. Then it happened. Well actually, I guess I should say… when I went to crank my car… nothing happened. No lights, no music, and most importantly, no AIR! The one day I put any effort into my appearance, I end up looking like this:

photo(27)

Luckily, Ryne was able to come get me relatively quickly. The first thing he said to me was: “Why didn’t you wait inside in the air?” Ugh, how did I not think of that? If you ever find yourself in a stressful or emergency situation, do not call me. I’m clearly not capable of helping myself, much less others.

After stealing Ryne’s truck, I finally made it to the party (greasy face and stringy hair in tow). Isn’t the bride-to-be beautiful, though?! She teaches spin and I’m totally jealous of her junk in the trunk, if you know what I mean. Winking smile

SAM_3144

There were some pretty awesome snacks at the shower. I ate my weight in cheese and dominated the veggie tray. When I’m at a party, I bring the heat! You better eat quick or it’s gone.

SAM_3141

Everyone who attended also brought a bottle of wine and we all got to try a little (or a lot) of each.

SAM_3142

But my favorite part? The cake, of course! The bottom layer was vanilla and the top was strawberry. I couldn’t decide so I had a little of both.

SAM_3147

Immediately after leaving the shower, I headed to a birthday party for my sister and my aunt these people I know. I don’t claim them.

SAM_3151

And then, one slice of peach cobbler and a slice of angel food cake later, I put myself into a full on sugar coma.

SAM_3156

The only dessert I didn’t indulge in? Toilet paper cake. Eh, it’s a long story…

SAM_3157

But on a serious note, not that long ago it would have been hard for me to accept a day of cake eating and couch sitting. Now that I look at healthy eating and exercising as a lifelong goal (as opposed to a daily battle), I’m much more at peace with small decisions. I didn’t become healthy in one day and I won’t become unhealthy in one day. Seems simple enough to me!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to try to pry my husband away from Shark Week.

7 responses to “Sunday Splurges and Rest Day Guilt

  1. ittybitsofbalance

    Barefoot Moscato is the BEST wine! I’ve never been much of a drinker– but this stuff is BEASTLY

    I’m glad you’re at peace with your healthy lifestyle :D Happy Monday!

  2. Looks like a nice Sunday! :)

    Splurges are important for our sanity. Besides – what would life be like without cake every now and then?! Boring. That’s what. :)

  3. Good luck with Shark Week this week ;) Haha

  4. What a sweeeet little puppy you got there :-) As cute as hey are.. I do NOT miss puppy training days!

  5. Seriously such a great way of thinking! I like that :)

Leave a Reply

