Fiesta Avocado Hummus

Today was a long day! I spent the entire morning and afternoon staring at page after page on safety, confidentiality, and conduct. I also filled out insurance, tax, and retirement paperwork. Sounds like a blast, right? The only thing that kept me going was knowing I was coming home to a smooth, spicy, and satiating snack! (PS: I kind of love alliteration.) I am never  buying hummus at the store again. It’s just too easy to make at home…

SAM_3176

Fiesta Avocado Hummus (adapted from Emily’s recipe in O Magazine)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 avocado, peeled and pitted
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoon diced jalapeño (reduce for less spice!)
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • juice of one lime

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a larger food processor or high-powered blender.
  2. Blend until smooth.
  3. Eat with your favorite dippers!

After eating more than my fair share of the green stuff, I starting planning out the first week of school. Hopefully everything will go smoothly! I’m scared the kids are going to eat me alive. Today really wore me out… and I know it’s just a taste of how tired I’ll when I have a classroom full of fourth graders. Once school starts, I’m going to end up looking like this every night:

SAM_3184

Right now I’m hanging out with my boys and resting up for tomorrow. We have a few meetings at school… and then I am going to make it to the gym, whether I like it or not! Have a great night!

**By the way, I haven’t had a working internet connection for a few days, so I’m sorry I haven’t been responding or commenting much lately. I’ve been intermittently receiving the apartment office’s signal and I may or may not occasionally log on to post. Don’t tell them, please Smile!**

10 responses to “Fiesta Avocado Hummus

  1. Yummy yummy. But sometimes…. I can’t resist the Sabra roasted pine nut hummus (plus, I always hoard coupons that makes it financially reasonable!)

    This’d be a great party dip, though (or fiesta… you know.)

  2. I love hummus and avocados why didn’t I think of this? Yum!

  3. Love homemade hummus…it’s so easy to make!! :-) xoxo from Trinidad

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    This is like a combo of guacamole and hummus– my two favorite spreads! MMMMMMM :D Thank you for this!

  5. MMM – going to have to make this! I LOVE hummus. :)

  6. I am the same way about salsa as you are hummus. I can never imagine buying salsa when I can just make it fresh – a lot better tasting & better for you.

  7. Hehe what they don’t know won’t kill them! We all enjoy your posts so we won’t give away your secret! And just remind yourself: all of the paperwork will be so worth it when you have all of the students to encourage and engage! It is all for a great reason in the long run, especially with hummus involved!

  8. I have never thought of adding an avocado! I think this is WAY smart! ….Don’t worry about all the paper work, it will lighten and you’ll move on to work that feels more teacher appropriate…..Like grading papers and lesson plans. Oh the fun!!!!

  9. That sounds delicious and looks SO good!!

  10. Hummus + avocados TOGETHER…geeeenius! I still need to get a new food professor since mine broke. On the to do list today? I think so!

Leave a Reply

