Banana Peach Muffins

Today was full of firsts. The first time I greeted my students in the morning. The first time I took them to lunch. (Which also coincides with the first time I forgot my lunch at home. Nice.) The first time we went to recess. And my personal favorite, the first time they realized I was completely and utterly insane. They really think I’m crazy. And I think that’s a good thing. I can keep them on their toes that way! Winking smile

photo(61)

This is a picture of my classroom moments before the wrecking crew arrived. My room will never look that neat again… it’s such a shame! The day went by so quickly, yet I am so worn out. It’s hard to believe how tired I am after one day of having my own classroom. Teachers, is this how it always feels? Wait, don’t answer that… I don’t even want to know!

Today also marked the official first day of my half marathon training. According to my plan, I needed to run 3-5 easy miles.  I probably would have bailed on tonight’s workout if it didn’t include the word “easy”…. I ran 4 miles in 35 minutes  and called it a night. Well, almost. I realized it was still daylight and that it would be pathetic for me to fall asleep so early. Plus, whenever I’m deliriously tired, I somehow force myself to do random “productive” things. I think it’s the same thing as a baby forcing himself to stay awake by vigorously shaking his arms. Except babies can’t bake muffins. So, ha!

SAM_3202

Banana Peach Muffins (inspired by my rotten produce)

Ingredients (makes 12 regular muffins):

  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 ripe peaches, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons liquid sweetener
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1 egg (or 1 tablespoon flax + 3 tablespoons water)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line or grease muffin tin.
  2. Mix flour, baking soda, and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
  3. Mix bananas, almond milk, liquid sweetener, egg, and vanilla in a separate bowl.
  4. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Fold in peaches.
  5. Spoon batter into muffin tin and bake for 30 minutes.
  6. Devour… after cooling of course! Smile

I’m seriously about to crash, y’all. If you don’t hear from me in the next day or two, send out a search party. I’m not kidding. Judging by how tired I am, I don’t know if I’ll ever wake up.

11 responses to “Banana Peach Muffins

  1. Aww, get some sleep, girl! I can’t imagine how tired I’d be spending all day with kids. I’m sure it gets easier once you all get into a routine. It sounds like a great first day though! :)

  2. Your classroom turned out great & by the sound of it, so did your first day. I’m so glad :)

    I can’t get over that you got home from a full day of working with children and still managed to bake AND work out! Major kudos to you, girl

  3. beautiful classroom, I love the birthday balloons!!

    Hopefully one of those muffins can give you the energy you need to plow through this morning!! I have a self-imposed “no later than 10:30″ bedtime tonight. I need to crash hardddddddddd.

  4. aww, first day of school, how fun!! Reading a teacher’s blog kind of makes me reconsider working in a school after I graduate.. but I’m super indecisive, so who knows :) I can’t imagine how exhausted you are.. I’m sure you’ll get used to it within a few weeks, though! (and those muffins.. um.. yum!)

  5. I hear ya on the crashing part…I was there last week and will probably be there again in a few days! Hope your half marathon training goes well! I seriously am the worst for that…doh!

    Muffins look yummy too…haha and I love that it was inspired by your rotting fruit…totally the best inspiration ever.

  6. Your classroom is adorable, I love it! :)

    YAY on 1/2 Marathon Training! I just started Week 3 and I LOVE it when the 3-5 “easy” miles is the day’s workout… especially when I’m exhausted. Makes the days with the higher mileage so much more do-able when there are breaks in between!

  7. Ahh I can totally relate. My first day of student teaching was EXHAUSTING. I got used to it though. I am proud of you for still having the energy to run afterward! I can’t wait to hear some stories about your teaching experiences! :)

  8. I’ve definitely gone to sleep when it’s still light out in the summer! Hope you catch up on your rest!

  9. I give you so much credit for keeping up with those kids! Seriously! Your class room looks awesome.

  10. You classroom is adorable!! I love it!
    And good luck on the training! I have always wanted to do that..maybe some day :)
    And yummy yummy muffins! Banana and Peach sounds so refreshing!

  11. I remember my first year with my own classroom, I HAD to take a nap when I got home!!! (ps- I also lost my voice, drink lots of water till your voice gets used to talking allllll day!)
    No worries, you’ll get into ‘teaching shape’ it is almost like training for a sport or long run. Your body gets used to it after a while. Come Friday after school, you’ll need a goooood looooong nap! :)
    Those muffins are looking great!!! Keep having fun with them!!! :)

Leave a Reply

