Good News and Better News!

The good news?

Y’all are amazing! I can’t express how thankful I am to have you amazing ladies right now! I feel like I started this blog at just the right time in my life. Writing these short (and, right now, sporadic) posts is pretty much the most relaxing thing in my life right now. I know this blog lacks direction, but I’m so glad y’all are stickin with me! One day I might actually figure this whole thing out… Winking smile

The better news?

Today I found out that my grandmother’s cancer hadn’t yet reached her adrenal glands after all. The preliminary scans caused the doctors to assume the worst, but the biopsy ended up coming back negative. She still has a baseball sized tumor in her lungs and some in her liver, but it is nice to know that it hadn’t spread as far as they had originally thought. So it’s a small blessing! I’m secretly hoping that they were wrong about it all, but I know I’m just wishful thinking!

I guess today is as good a time as any to recap the bachelorette party I attended this weekend for my friend Logan. It might seem out of place, but I need a little levity right now! After driving to Charlotte on Friday night, we hit up Dave and Buster’s for dinner.

SAM_3206

I’ve never eaten there before, but I was pleasantly surprised. I ordered grilled shrimp, sweet potato fries, and apparently a shadow.

photo(65)

After we ate, we were ready for a little late night ski ball. I’m obsessed with that game but unfortunately sucked that night. I think I won the least tickets of anyone the whole night! Sad smile

SAM_3215

We were all pretty tired after an hour of playing games, but it was time for the real party to begin! We headed back to the hotel for a lingerie party. I’m only sharing one picture as I don’t want to embarrass the bride! Winking smile Her expression definitely sums up the gifts…

SAM_3226

Finally, it was time for bed. We were all so tired… and we had to be well rested for a BIG day the next day. But obviously not before a free and filling hotel breakfast!

photo(62)

After breakfast we headed to the US National Whitewater Center!

DSCF3916

We were determined to fit in as much as possible while we were there. We ended up zip lining, rafting, and rock climbing!

DSCF3896

DSCF3902

DSCF3908

DSCF3910

Of course we also made time for lunch! We ate at the restaurant on the premises and it was freaking fabulous! It seemed like half of the menu was vegetarian and vegan friendly. I got the Black Betty Salad (mixed greens topped with avocado, red pepper, cucumber, grilled pineapple, homemade black bean burger, and citrus soy vinaigrette) which was delicious!

photo(64)

When we got back to the hotel that evening, a few of us even had enough energy to hit up the hotel gym.

photo(66)

That’s pretty much the extent of the equipment. It was honestly kind of sad, but I hit up the treadmill for a quick 5 mile run. I finished in 40 minutes which completely shocked me! I must have been running on pure adrenaline because I should have been utterly exhausted after all the day’s events! After showering and getting ready (which took HOURS with five females!) it was time to hit up the town! A friend from high school (who now lives in Charlotte) stopped by to join in. Obviously prom-style photos were necessary.

SAM_3241

We didn’t end up eating until 10 pm so we stuffed our faces in a totally lady-like way. We went to Aria and it was absolutely perfect! I ordered a shrimp, artichoke, and arugula pizza for my entrée, but my favorite part of the meal was the simplest. They brought out white beans and oil with the bread and it was amazing. I unfortunately forgot to snap a picture, but I’m totally going to have to make it at home!

photo(67)

Once we refueled, we acted a fool for the remainder of the evening! I even rode a mechanical bull for the first time. Hilarious.

SAM_3243

SAM_3246

SAM_3250

That’s about it for the trip! But I wanted to thank y’all again for being so kind lately… It means a lot. I’m heading to bed now, but I can’t wait to catch up with all of your blogs in the AM!

9 responses to “Good News and Better News!

  1. That’s great news about your grandma! So glad it’s in a better state than what was thought.

    The party looks like a blast! I want to do the bull thing at some point too. :)

  2. What an awesome bachelorette party!!! Ziplines look so intense and fun! Anddd I love ski ball! I was obsessed as a kid! Glad you had fun, and I hope you get more good news about your grandma!

  3. I’m glad the news about your grandma isn’t as bad as you originally thought! Sending good thoughts and vibes to you and your family.
    And I’m happy you had a fun weekend to get your mind off a tough week. Everyone needs a girl’s night out once in a while.

  4. SO happy to hear about your grandmother! That is awesome news!

    GEEZ – that bachelorette party looks like a blast! I want to go rafting! I ziplined in Alaska last summer and it was so much fun!

    Come visit Texas – there are a LOT of mechanical bulls you can ride! Haha

  5. glad to hear the better news about your grandmother! Still sending positive thoughts to you and your fam :) that bachelorette party looks like SO much fun! what a long day.. i would be completely exhausted!

  6. Oh. My. Goodness…that salad looks SO yummy!!! I want it now…especially after making flop pancakes. So happy to hear the good news about your grandma. I bet you’re an awesome granddaughter no matter what you do…and she knows that too!!!

  7. Pingback: Tackling Stress + Wedding Wednesday |

  8. Umm I know you’ve read my blog, so we are in the same boat about lacking direction ;) Love your blog nonetheless. I am so glad to hear some positive news about your grandmother :)

    I hope you had tons of fun in Charlotte. It looks like you did ;)

  9. Pingback: Cranberry Pineapple Breakfast Bake |

Leave a Reply

