WIAW + Apple Pie Barley Bowl

Okay, that’s it… I’m joining the WIAW party. I cannot resist any longer. It seems like fun! Unfortunately, today isn’t going to be the best day. This week at work has been hectic! The students (and myself!) were out all last week for Winter Break, and we have had so much catching up to do. So I’ll post a What I Ate Last Wednesday breakdown. :) Thanks to Jenn from Peas and Crayons for hosting a first-timer like myself!

Breakfast

For breakfast I had a barley bowl. I was out of oats (the horror!) and needed a quick sub. Let me just say, I’m impressed! I’d had a bag of pearled barley for longer than I’d like to admit. I’d just been too lazy to actually use it. In the end, my breakfast was something I’ll definitely be making again.

Apple Pie Barley Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 an apple, cored and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter, margarine, or Earth Balance
  • 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and apple pie spice (or to taste)
  • 1/3 cup barley
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  1. Add butter , apple pieces, and spices to a small saucepan and saute over medium heat.
  2. When the apples begin to soften, add barley and water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until all water has been absorbed.
  3. Serve it up hot… Tastes best over greek yogurt, I promise!

Snack

My mid-morning snack was a greek yogurt bowl with cherries, peanut butter, and Kashi Island Vanilla cereal. Random, but delicious! I ate this bowl while watching my dog hump his best friend, Remy. Romantic.

Lunch

For lunch I had a black bean quesadilla with onions, cheese, tomatoes, jalapenos, and taco seasoning. I served it up with some yogurt and salsa for dipping and a salad for some extra veggies. My salad was topped with Annie’s Goddess Dressing. One of my faves! I usually don’t have such heavy lunches right after snacking, but apparently Baby M had other plans. I was starving!

Dinner

Dinner was another win. I posted the recipe for this Roasted Tomato, Basil, and Goat Cheese Pasta the other day. Let’s just say a monkey could make it. It’s so easy and so perfectly simple!

I just realized that I should have titled this the “Around the World WIAW” because I included America (hello, apple pie!), Mexico, and Italy. Man, I’m so cultured. ;)

Now, hopefully I can get off my butt after work today and get moving. I’m still considering running a 5k, so I need to get myself (and the belly) ready!

10 responses to “WIAW + Apple Pie Barley Bowl

  1. Welcome to WIAW! Your eats look amazing! Especially that quesadilla!

  2. Really craving a quesadilla for dinner tonight!

  3. haha your comment about eating a yogurt bowl while watching your dog hump cracked me up! i love yogurt bowls with peanut butter. glad you joined in on wiaw!

  4. Welcome to WIAW!!!! Love seeing all the newbies every week…barley bowl is a great idea!

  5. Your eats looook so good! I love your greek yogurt snack, a common one for me as well. And I love that quesadilla, I’d devour that haha

  6. that pasta looks delicious along with the rest of your eats!

Leave a Reply

