Hilton Head Island + Baby Brain

Yesterday after our doctor’s appointment, we picked up our friends Jake and Kayla and headed to Hilton Head Island. Is there anything better than finally seeing water? I still get excited!

Before we drove to our hotel, we stopped at the outlets. My pre-shopping fuel of choice was a peach smoothie from Panera Bread. Can I just say that this straw was ridiculous? Not a fan. The smoothie was good, though!

Shopping while you’re pregnant is a little bit of a let down. You can’t really buy anything! I found some headbands, because that’s the only part of my body that isn’t enormous right now. :) I actually just wanted to look at baby clothes, but I figured that nobody else was really on board for that. Some other time, right? After our little shopping trip, we finally arrived at the hotel.

We are staying at the Park Lane Hotel & Suites. The rooms are great for the price. No complaints here. We are staying in a Queen Loft Room, so we have a sofa bed, kitchen, dining area, and full bathroom downstairs and a queen bed and full bathroom upstairs. Pretty cute. The best part is definitely the kitchen, though! If we were staying longer, we’d definitely get more use out of it.

Our first stop was Coligny Plaza and the Frosty Frog Cafe.

The Frosty Frog is a frozen daiquiri bar, and most of them are already pre-mixed with alcohol. Everyone (except for me) picked their poison. I skipped the drinks, because I heard this little rumor that you shouldn’t drink while you’re pregnant. Total bummer.

I watched some golf while they got their drink on. We went to the Masters last weekend and now we are in Hilton Head for the Heritage. We can’t escape it!

But don’t assume I was bored, I had plenty of entertainment.

After walking around Coligny, we decided to find some dinner! We wanted to go somewhere we hadn’t been before, so we asked a local. She directed us towards Captain Woody’s. She didn’t disappoint us! But before I get into dinner, let me just tell you that “baby brain” is no joke. I was in charge of driving, so I found a place to park. Somehow I parked, put the e brake on, and we all headed in to the restaurant. Small problem though: I left the keys in the ignition and the car running. I’m a champ!

Through some miracle, we found a much closer spot and Ryne ran to the car to move it. When he drove back up his face was priceless. I know he’s proud of me… (side note: I “held” our parking spot while he got the car. That’s probably against parking lot etiquette, but what can ya do? I’m classy.)

Okay, back to the restaurant…

We had a short wait until we could be seated, so we headed out back to a tiki bar. It was awesome. There was the best assortment of characters for people watching. Bikers were mingling with golf fans in town for the Heritage. Yes, an amazing show ensued. There was a lot of yelling, hugging, and dancing. The tiki bar trifecta.

Then it was time to get our grub on! The house salad was actually pretty good! There were even green and red peppers up in there. Usually, house salads suck. Just sayin’.

The boys shared raw and steamed oysters. I don’t have the guts to try them!

Ryne and I shared Kickin’ Camarones (ponzu shrimp) and crab legs with a side of fries. No veggies in sight! Might have to work on that tomorrow. I thought about subbing fries for veggies, but c’mon let’s be real… We’re on vacation.

So, my 29 week baby update was a premonition of the end of our meal. I said I was dressed like a ninja, and I totally ninja chopped our crab shells on to the floor. If Ryne wasn’t proud of my parking skills, he was definitely claiming me at this point. I’m a winner.

Right now we’re relaxing on the beach! I may or may not resemble a beached sea creature. I’ll let your imagination decide. :) If that doesn’t scare you enough, I’ll leave you with this gem. Here I am last night in all my lazy-eyed glory. How did Ryne get so lucky?!

20120414-124047.jpg

4 responses to “Hilton Head Island + Baby Brain

  1. char eats GREENS

    We were at the Heritage 4 years ago…I wanna go back!! I don’t know how I was done exams by this time 4 years ago, but I still have 2 left to write this time around. Enjoy your time there…tres jealous!!

  2. Yum! Everything looks amazing! I’m jealous that you live close enough to the beach to have a weekend excursion like this!

  3. ah i’m so jealous you’re at the beach! that sounds glorious! you look so cute in that last photo. ryne seriously IS a lucky guy!

  4. That looks like an awesome time :) I am rather jealous! That frozen drink place sounds like a place in Ft. Lauderdale that I went last year and LOVED! so neat!

Leave a Reply

