Hilton Head Island + Body Image

I’ve been out of it lately. I feel like I’ve had SO much to do… and not enough time to do it. I also haven’t been feeling well. I’ll be 30 weeks tomorrow, and my body is not adjusting well to being this far along. It almost feels like morning sickness all over again! Nice. Anyway, now that I’ve complained (promise I’ll stop! sometime.), I’ll finally recap Saturday’s events in Hilton Head.

Saturday, I woke up and made a lackluster continental breakfast. Fruit with an everything bagel and cream cheese. Boring, but it served its purpose. I used the hotel room kitchen to make Ryne eggs and bacon. Lucky dude, I tell ya.

After breakfast, we headed to the beach! We went rather early, so we were some of the first people out there. We got a prime spot. (In your face, old people. We even beat you!)

Baby M was feeling rather full of himself. He requested hundreds of pictures of himself. Okay, okay. That was me. I had to get a decent shot of my rear end. It was looking super frumpy. Not a fan.

We took a nice little stroll along the beach and found a message in a bottle. Seriously. And whoever wrote it, was very into it. It was a little creepy. I felt weird putting it back in the ocean, but we didn’t have the heart to trash it. Either that or we were just lazy.

Lunch time! I forced politely asked everyone to join me for lunch at The Market Street Cafe. It’s one of my favorite places to eat in HHI, so I wasn’t going to miss out on this trip. I tried something new, and it was delicious! I had the Sauteed Veggie Delight Pita Wrap and added shrimp and feta. It already had provolone, but one cheese is never enough (I mean, let’s be real). The small cup on the side is potato salad. I don’t know what they put in there, but we all agreed it was on point! Potato crack, for real.

After lunch we headed back to the beach and met up with our friends Cayce and Steven. We stayed out until around 4, when it started to drizzle. We went back to our hotel and freshened up for dinner. (Why yes, we went on vacation just to eat.) We chose Hudson’s and it didn’t disappoint. When we first pulled up, we almost backed out. From the front, it looks a little outdated. The dockside tables made up for it, though!

It was too pretty not to take a few photos! I’m sure the guys loved having to wait to order dinner. They are probably used to all the picture-taking by now.

Time for dinner! How cute is the menu? It’s printed like a little newspaper.

The boys got oysters for their appetizer, so I ordered a spinach salad with caramelized pears, strawberries, and feta. Definitely a good choice, and not something that most “seafood” restaurants would have!

There were two of these mountains at our table that night. I’m not a mathematician, but that has to be about a million oysters.

It was almost pitch black dark at our table by the time we ate our meals. I had shrimp cocktail and some fries. Random, I know. I’m sure the darkness was meant to be “cool” or “romantic”, but I couldn’t really see my food. A flashlight would have been nice. I’m super weird about eating outside (hello, BUGS)… so I would have liked to see what I was eating. It was still a really great meal, though.

After dinner, we drove to the Triangle. We went into a bar called One Hot Mama’s. Kinda funny. People were probably looking at me like I took the name a little too literally. Definitely the only preggo in the bar. Classy.

When we got back to the room, everyone was taking apple pie shots and snacking. Cayce and Steven bought me a belated birthday present out of the hotel vending machine. Mmm, Riblets.

Joking. That’s absolutely disgusting. I went for the Reese’s Ice Cream. So good.

Body Image

One thing I do want to mention about this trip, is that I had a lot of body image issues. None of my clothes seemed to fit correctly. The camera kept making my ass look terrible (yes, it was the camera’s fault). I couldn’t stop fussing with my bathing suit while we were at the beach.

I was hyper aware of how I looked the entire trip. The sad thing is, I really thought I was over those feelings. I even posted about the importance of loving your body recently. Well, it’s easier said than done. This weekend taught me that no matter how many positive steps you take toward feeling good about yourself, those negative thoughts can still creep in. I learned that I need to actively work at staying positive. After all, I can’t workout at the same intensity that I used to… so how can I expect parts of me to look the same? I’ve just got to do the best I can. Someone remind me of that daily, please. :)

Tomorrow I’ll be 30 weeks! I can’t even believe it. Even though I’m feeling like crap, I’m still really excited for this milestone. Can’t wait to post my 30 week update…

Hope y’all are having a great Wednesday!

10 responses to “Hilton Head Island + Body Image

  1. I know it’s all about your own self confidence, but you are absolutely GLOWING in those photos (even without the sun) – your body is doing an amazing thing right now! :)

  2. Hey, you actually couldn’t be prettier if you tried. Seriously, that snapshot of you and Ryne on the dock, you two look like models.

    I promise, I was totally going to say that even BEFORE the section on body image, I was thinking it the second I saw that shot. In other news, that Sauteed Veggie Delight Pita Wrap…. I want to go to there. Oh, Hilton Head, I miss you so!

  3. I just found your blog, but I wanted to tell you that I think you are absolutely stunning (pregnant or not)! I love how real you are and wish you the best with your baby on the way!

  4. You look great Presley! All of your eats from this trip look delicious… especially that pita & the Reeses ice cream!!

  5. char eats GREENS

    Awww, Pres. I know how you feel (sans baby belly). But sometimes it IS hard to tell yourself you look good, even if you just did a second ago! I’m feeling down lately too, mainly because I’m not where I was 8 months ago. But, like you, things have changed – I’m not running as much and I’m definitely eating more.

    We can both work on the little things. And hey, at least once you have the babe, you can get back in routine…only 8-10 weeks to go!! And FYI, if that was my bagel, it would have been covered in cream cheese. That’s one thing I’m super missing right now from going vegan…cream cheese. I seriously want to eat it sometimes…like now!!

  6. Awww I’m sad you had some body image issues on the trip because I was just about to comment how gorgeous and glowing you look in all the pictures!!! Honestly you look fabulous hun!

  7. I’ve been having body image issues too, I feel huge in anything I put on. You on the other hand look amazing for 30 weeks!

  8. You look gorgeous! Such a hot mama, for sure! :) And that Reese’s ice cream bar sounds fantastic!

  9. Oh my goodness! I will most definitely remind you this EVERY day! I LOVE YOU! Be proud of you and what you have been given! No one else sees your “flaws” <3

  10. Honestly, you look fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

