Peanut Butter Protein Granola

This morning I woke up bright and early before noon so that I could start to whittle away at my never-ending to-do list. I knew if I didn’t get a run in first thing that it just wouldn’t happen given the fact that I am prone to making excuses for myself! 🙂 I rolled out of bed, grabbed a handful of granola, laced up my sneakers and hit the road. I actually slept in my gym clothes in hopes of forcing myself to get off my butt first thing in the morning. Is that pathetic? I ended up running at a local park for about 30 minutes. All I remembered to bring was my music. And my phone. So I have no way of knowing how far I actually ran or how fast.  But let me just say, this run was SWEATY. I texted my husband complaining about drenching my clothes and this was his response:

(What is “Yeag?” bahaha Ryne turned off auto-correct the other day and the spelling errors have been rampant. But I guess it’s better than him sending sometimes x-rated messages on accident the way I do. Seriously, what is up with my Iphone? It’s a sexual predator. I can’t even say some of the words I accidentally send people!) I wish I would have known about the heat because I would have made myself get up even earlier. Oh well. Lesson learned. The one thing that kept me going on this run? Homemade granola! I knew I would get to enjoy a huge yogurt, granola, & fruit bowl when I got home. It’s the little things, right?

I made this granola after reading Julie’s recipe for chocolate protein granola. I’m not a huge chocolate fan, so I decided to try a pb version. I made it with things I had on hand (so it is very basic!), but I would definitely like to experiment with new flavors and mix-ins.

Peanut Butter Protein Granola

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1.)Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

2.) Mix all ingredients (except for oats) in a medium sauce pan and heat until melty and delicious. Mix in oats until well coated.

3.) Spread mixture evenly onto a non-stick baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

4.) Eat it plain, eat it with yogurt… heck, I’d eat it off the floor!

In addition to learning that I need to get my runs in way earlier now, I also deducted that I need some new gear. I snapped this photo in hopes to show off my sexy, sweaty legs (check out the veins, gross!):

I noticed that it looked funny… Check out the blue swoosh (what is the correct term?) on the right foot.  Crooked right? Here is the culprit:

I know it’s technically just a cosmetic issue, but it also got me thinking of how long I’ve been running in this pair. I LOVE THEM. I have an older pair (same style, different color) that I haven’t worn near as much, so I’m going to go back to those until I can afford/find time to buy a new pair! So if you see any deals, hook a girl up.

8 responses to “Peanut Butter Protein Granola

  1. I just went through the shoe thing too! I saved up and bought me a pair of Brooks and I love them! The granola looks awesome… humidity stinks girl! My running partner and I (because it is so darn hott) wake up 2-3 times a week and run at 5:30am… early but gosh it feels amazing!

  2. Great looking granola! 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog, so I could find yours!

  3. Pingback: Changes |

  4. That granola looks AMAZING! Going to have to try it – thanks!

  5. I need new runners, too! I just don’t know what to get! I have New Balance right now and I really like them, so maybe I’ll stick with them? I wanted to run today, but I have this huge bruise brewing on my right calf and this sounds stupid, but it actually hurts to even walk with it there. Boo…running tomorrow instead!

  6. @Char on a Mission – is there a store in your area that evaluates your run pattern? They are the best! They literally watch you walk and run and then tell you the best shoe for you 🙂

    I love my Brooks though!

  7. Pingback: Lazy Girl’s Post |

Leave a Reply

