Baked Buffalo Shrimp Wonton Cups

Right now I’m the queen of procrastination. I should be getting ready for a morning run, or eating breakfast, or doing something that I actually need to do. Instead I’m typing up an appetizer recipe… because I cannot get it off my mind! Seriously. It’s that good.

I saw Jessica’s recipe for buffalo chicken tacos yesterday morning. Buffalo=YUM. So I needed to find away to get some for myself. Unfortunately I don’t like chicken and I didn’t have any tortillas or any type of taco topping. I was screwed. Until I remembered a frozen package of wontons I had been hoarding saving. If Jessica’s tacos were Mexican fusion, I’m calling this dish Asian fusion. Buffasian? Asialo? We’ll work on the name later. Right now, just make these and enjoy every last bite.

Baked Buffalo Shrimp Wonton Cups

Ingredients (makes 12 pieces of buffalo heaven):

  • 12 wonton wrappers
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 8-10 shrimp (peeled, deveined, and chopped)
  • 3/4 cup light cream cheese
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup Frank’s Red Hot Wing’s sauce (I like spicy, some folks don’t…)
  • 2 green onions, chopped

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2.) Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a saute pan on medium-high heat. Saute shrimp for a minute or two until pink. Mix shrimp with cream cheese, buffalo sauce, and green onions. Set aside.

2.) Lightly brush both sides of each wrapper with the remaining oil. Place each wrapper in a mini-cupcake pan and form into small cups. Place in oven and bake for three minutes. Remove from oven, fill with shrimp mixture and bake for an additional three minutes.

3.) Allow to cool for a few minutes before devouring. I didn’t. My mouth still hurts.

The best part about these wontons? They’re even husband-approved. They are freaking off the chain. The fact that they are baked makes me happy. The fact that they are smothered in hot sauce makes Ryne smile.

Sneaking a bite!

Now I’m seriously going for a run. So ask me later about it! Now I have to or I’ll feel bad. 😉 Then later I’m going to get my hair done with my friend Mal. We’re thinking of getting feathers, too. I know, how very middle school of us. But we’re going to Fripp Island tomorrow and then Key West in a week… we feel like it might be okay to wear them on vacation. Feel free to talk me into or out of this decision!

One response to “Baked Buffalo Shrimp Wonton Cups

  1. Nothing like some early morning apps. Those looks tasty! 🙂

    Have a great Saturday!!!

Leave a Reply

