Greek Quinoa Salad

Before leaving for Fripp, I made a salad that I thought would travel well. The different flavors of this salad really come out if you let ’em all chill together so I thought a few hours in a cooler wouldn’t hurt it. Unfortunately, I forgot to actually pack it. So in my fridge at home, sitting all sad and lonely, is a huge helping of Greek Quinoa Salad. Thankfully, I sampled this salad before leaving! I had a huge scoop of it in a whole wheat pita coated with some plain Greek yogurt for some creaminess.

I based this recipe off of Shape’s salad with the same name. It turned out so well. But with protein, carbs, healthy fats, and veggies… how could it have gone wrong?

Greek Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup kalamata olives, sliced
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 cup reduced-fat feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon each of garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, basil, and/or any spices you prefer!
  • 1 cup red wine vinegar

Directions:

1.) In a medium sauce pan, bring one cup of quinoa and two cups of water or broth to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until all liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat. Transfer to a large bowl and allow to cool completely.

2.) Add onion, tomatoes, olives, green onions, and feta. Toss to combine.

3.) In a separate bowl combine oil, spices, and mustard. Whisk in vinegar.

4.) Pour dressing over salad and toss until every spoonful is covered in deliciousness.

5.) If you are feeling particularly festive, serve salad with fresh, homemade pitas (I only had store bought. Wahh.)

Aaaand now I’m craving pitas and hummus. Great.

Well, I’m off for a run before heading out on the beach! It’s crazy how I can get up earlier on vacation than I can at home. What’s wrong with me?!

3 responses to “Greek Quinoa Salad

  1. Looks so very good! I need to get my hands on some quinoa!!!!! 🙂

  2. Haha, aww! Sorry you forgot it, but it does look fantastic! I looove anything with quinoa!

  3. This looks amazing! I think I am going to try it next week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

