Feeling Duped

Last night, I posted about how our new puppy, Buddy, was getting sick and refusing to eat. I didn’t mention that the shelter we got him from had forced us to buy a bottle of Mona-Vie and administer 2 cc’s of the juice twice a day. We were to log results for a month and return the sheet at one of his shot appointments.

SAM_3089

They had raved about how beneficial it was for the puppies and emphasized how critical it was that our puppy be part of the study. Basically, to adopt our dog we had to allow him to take part. At the time, it seemed like an interesting way to keep Buddy healthy and boost his immune system. Looking back, the shelter was making a ridiculous request. Why were they pushing this stuff so hard? Who was selling it to them? We should have asked questions and noticed the red flags. Unfortunately, we did not and we signed Buddy up for two days of what, when it comes down to it, was practically torture. I’m so upset at myself for letting this happen and not realizing what was going on. I need to remember, though, that any family that received him would have had to sign the same paper. I just wish I would have lied.

photo(13)

Yesterday, Buddy spent the entire day dry heaving, refusing to eat, and sleeping in my lap. By the end of the day, Ryne and I were really starting to worry about him. We gave him his evening dose of 2 cc’s of Mona-Vie, he paced around, and then he threw up. All of a sudden, it was so obvious. We literally could not have felt any more stupid. We obviously decided to stop giving him his doses and he stopped throwing up by the time we went to bed. This morning, I figured he would gobble up his food, but he still refused to eat! I was so frustrated because I really thought we had solved the mystery. I did what I always do when I’m upset: I called my mom. Smile She brought Buddy two cans of wet puppy food and I quickly plopped half a can into his bowl.

SAM_3094

He went to town on that stuff! I was so excited to see him eat for the first time in two days! I think he thought his dry food was what was making him sick, so he naturally didn’t want to keep eating it. Now I just have to be careful that I don’t create a little diva… I will be slowly weaning him off the wet (and expensive) puppy food and back onto dry puppy food. I’m just glad this ordeal is finally over. Now hopefully Buddy will continue to be a happy, healthy little pup.

Knowing that Buddy is feeling better means I won’t completely panic at the thought of leaving him alone. Now I can go back to regular life: workouts and runs, errands for the upcoming school year, creating recipes, and blogging about it all. Just in time, too, because I have a meeting tomorrow at school in the AM! But this sweet little face will still be in the back of my mind until I return:

photo(14)

I am so excited to get back to regular blogging. After two vacations and a surprise puppy adoption, I need to get back on track. I feel like so far Run Pretty has been a whole lot of pretty (places and puppies) with very little running. With three races this fall, I definitely need to work on that!

9 responses to “Feeling Duped

  1. Soo cute. Im glad you figured out what was wrong – such a good little mommy & daddy! Congrats again!

  2. I’m glad you figured it out!

    We soaked our dog’s dry dog food in some water to soften it up and make it easier to eat … sometimes the kibble is hard on their little teeth.

    It might help when you go to wean! He is so cute!

  3. Wow, I can’t believe the shelter made you do that! That’s crazy. I’m so glad he’s doing better now and you were able to figure out what was wrong. You guys are doing great as pup parents! 🙂

  4. So glad your pup is okay!! too cute to be sick, right?

  5. Sweet puppy!! Glad he is all better 🙂 Good luck with your training! I am training for a half in October in Myrtle Beach!

  6. He is so cute! Glad he is okay. The wet food always helps, it seems!

  7. Poor pup! Glad he’s going the right direction!

Leave a Reply

