Blueberry Banana Bread Muffins

Last night, I spent the majority of the evening watching Buddy try to burrow his way under Ryne.

Here we go...

Not quite!

"What are you lookin' at?!"

SUCCESS.

(I promise I will slow down on the puppy posts… eventually.) Before heading to bed, I realized I still haven’t been to the grocery store since we got home from vacation. The fridge situation was a bit ridiculous. The exact contents of my fridge (besides things like mustard and ketchup): 1 black banana, 2 overly ripe kiwis, 2 Greek yogurts (one plain, one blueberry), half a bottle of chardonnay, and an onion. Really? What was I supposed to eat?! The pantry was just as pathetic. We had no bread, no almond milk, and no oats. It was an emergency. I knew I might have just enough random stuff to pull off some muffins thanks to a huge stash of whole wheat flour that never seems to go down. I knew making these muffins was going to be a crap shoot; they could turn out nicely or it could all go very, very wrong. I got to work mixing things together, baking them up, and left them on a cooling rack over night…

This morning, I went to check on my muffins. Verdict? They’re good if you’re in a bind like I was. They have a good amount of sweetness from the banana and are able to keep you full thanks to a nice little dose of fiber. Not a huge failure, but nothing to write home about. I made a yogurt bowl with blueberry Greek yogurt, one sliced up kiwi, and one of my blueberry banana bread muffins.

I wasn’t going to post the recipe at all until I realize it is sorta useful if you ever find yourself in a situation where you need something quick and easy. I know, you could just go out and get groceries. But what if you’re lazy like me? You’ll make these muffins. See, I can be helpful! Plus, they’re good for you. So it’s cool.

Blueberry Banana Bread Muffins

Ingredients (makes 9-10 regular muffins):

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons ground flax
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 mashed almost unrecognizably-ripened banana
  • 3/4 to 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix together flour, baking powder, flax, and cinnamon.
  3. Mix in yogurt, vanilla, and water.
  4. Mash banana and fold into mix along with blueberries.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes.

Why does this recipe yield a random number of muffins? I don’t know, I’m obviously not a mathlete. Or very good at baking. I need a lot of practice. Bare with me, please! πŸ™‚ Now, I’m off to the grocery store. FINALLY!

8 responses to “Blueberry Banana Bread Muffins

  1. I vote for NOT slowing down on the puppy posts! πŸ˜‰ I love how long his tail is!

  2. I want your puppy!!! He’s ADORABLE!!
    delicious looking muffins too πŸ˜€

  3. MORE PUPPY POSTS!!

    and also, more muffins. Hungry hungry hungry.

  4. Don’t slow down on the puppy posts! He’s adorable πŸ™‚ I love blueberry muffins so I am printing your recipe!

  5. He is the cutest puppy I’ve ever seen!!!

    You’re really good at improvising! I probably wouldn’t even think to try baking and just go to the store. The muffins look great!

  6. ittybitsofbalance

    Oh my lordy! I’m so glad you commented on my blog because it led me to this adorable puppy post! πŸ˜€ How old is she/he?

    (And a delicious recipe, but that’s another story)

Leave a Reply

