Wake up, wake up, wake up…

“…it’s the first of the mooonth.” Nothing like some Bone Thugs to get your day started, am I right? C’mon you know you rocked those CDs in middle and high school. Just me? Hmmph. But for real, it is August flippin’ first! Where did July go?!

This morning, I decided enough was enough. I wasn’t going to let the heat get the best of me anymore. I’ve been a complete wuss-face lately and I need to get over it! So I laced up and hit the road…

photo(31)

I planned to take it really easy on this run because I’ve been burning out quickly in the heat lately. I was running in mud/grass so that helped to slow me down and keep me in check. I maintained a fairly slow ‘n’ steady pace for the first four miles and ended up feeling pretty good. I even picked it up and finished with a 8:15 minute mile. I felt like a bad ass for a minute… and then I felt it. The inside of my right thigh was en fuego! Beautiful. I rarely have an issue with chafing on a shorter run, so I wonder what happened? Extra sweat and/or humidity? Anyway, my thigh felt real nice in the shower as well. So glad no one was home, because I was definitely whimpering like a freaking baby.

My time (not pictured on my wrist because it makes me look like I have twigs for arms and that’s embarrassing):

photo(30)

When I got home I was met with an unpleasant little surprise. Oh, hey Buddy, how did you get out of your pen? Oh, what’s that? You’re smarter than me? (Thank the Lord I’d already “puppy proofed” our leather couch. Buddy has needles for claws.) If you think he looks ashamed, he’s faking. He’s getting really good at it, too.

photo(32)

Before I left, I had gotten my MacGyver on and set up this super impenetrable barrier in the kitchen. I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty embarrassed that I was outsmarted by an 8-week-old.

photo(33)

After dealing with my evil genius of a puppy, I needed something to soothe my bruised ego. I whipped up a quick protein packed smoothie. It was pretty legit, if I do say so myself. I’m naming it the Bomb Berry Smoothie, because well, it’s the bomb. And yes, I realized I used the words legit and bomb in the same paragraph. You can take the girl outta college,  but you can’t take the college outta the girl.

SAM_3135

Bomb Berry Smoothie

Blend together:

  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 scoop strawberry protein powder
  • 1/4 cup strawberries
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup blackberries
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2-4 ice cubes
  • Enough almond milk to get it bomb-like

Right now, after such an eventful little morning, I’m taking it easy! I’ll hopefully get the courage to actually tackle the remaining thank you notes from the wedding. The longer I put off a task, the harder it is for me to actually complete it. And right now it’s really, really hard. Wish me luck!

10 responses to “Wake up, wake up, wake up…

  1. Bone Thugs is regularly blasted in my house – my hubs is a HUGE fan. Haha.

    As for Buddy – my German Shepherd was an escape artist too! She scaled every gate we tried. Unfortunately we had to put her in a kennel because she was/is too destructive. Haha.

    • Ryne loves them, too!

      Random story: we went through his old CD’s once and I just about died. He had the usuals: Bone Thugs, Tupac, some burned mixes… and then BAM: Dixie Chicks. haha

      • I tried to get rid of all of Chris’ CD’s while he was deployed – I got a very angry and threatening email back. HAHA. Needless to say we still have them all and there are some gems in there!

        He was SO excited when the new Bone Thugs CD came out a couple years ago….it was crazy!

  2. I can’t see your pictures…boo!

    Wedding Thank Yous are probably on the top 5 of most horrible obligations ever.

    • I can almost guarantee it’s something I did wrong… haha I’ll try to figure it out! Thanks for letting me know 🙂

      And I know, I wish I could really crank ’em out today! I have writer’s block.

  3. Bone Thugs is a prefect way to start the day 🙂

  4. What a sneaky puppy!! I did that same thing when Diesel was a puppy though. That boy outsmarted us in .02659 seconds flat!!
    Nice job on the run. The heat has been killer up here in Michigan, so I’ve been using the “dreadmill.” Boo:(

  5. Good thing the puppy is cute right? 🙂
    I cannot run in the heat. Ugh. Just the thought makes me cringe.
    By the way, your comments on my blog cracked me up!

  6. You have a smart pup! I love how you used “MacGyver” skills. My brother was OBSESSED with that show as a kid and still uses the skills he acquired today – and as a 30 year old.. refers to themas MacGyver skills. haha!

  7. Hahaha I totally listened to Bone Thugs in high school (and shhhh still do! Bone Thugs and Mariah’s “Breakdown” was (is) one of my favorites!

    Ahhh your pup is SO cute!

Leave a Reply

