Sushi, Six Packs, and Sneezes

Yesterday I mentioned that Ryne and I were headed out on a much-needed date night. We’ve both been so busy lately that we forgot how important it is to spend quality time together. It seems like our schedules are always conflicting and it has been getting harder and harder to plan things to do! So last night, we dropped everything and went to dinner… but not before taking a few photos, of course. I need to hire a personal photographer because we always looks heinous in our attempts at self-portraits. This is the best of the three:

SAM_3162

I really believe that Buddy knows when we are about to leave. He becomes this pouty, moody little thing immediately before we head out the door. Seriously, how depressing is this? I felt like Sarah McLachlan was about to enter the room singing “Angel” and talking to us about animal abuse.

SAM_3164

I felt so bad I gave the Budster a good-bye kiss… but Ryne refused to. I thought about kissing Ryne after Buddy and saying “HA! You kissed him!” but then I remembered that I’m an adult.

SAM_3165

After saying our goodbyes, it was time to decide where to go for dinner. There aren’t many choices where we live so you would think it would be easy. But you would be very, very wrong. We have honestly had fights over who should decide what to eat… repeatedly screaming “I don’t care, YOU pick!” at each other until someone gives. And if, God forbid, we start driving before we decide it turns into a full-on war.  Last night, we got lucky and finally agreed on TakoSushi. I love the food, but I hate that you literally have to sit elbow to elbow with the couples near you.

We started with the Shrimp Shumai which are little fried dumplings. I’m not sure what was in that sauce, but we both really enjoyed it!

photo(50)

For dinner, we both got sushi. Usually the rolls I choose are light and healthy, but last night I went all in. I was on a break, remember? Winking smile I got my all-time favorite roll: the Crazy roll. I should be honest, though, and say that any roll would be my favorite if it was covered in that teriyaki glaze.

photo(49)

After dinner, we decided to get a few beers and a movie from the grocery store. We would have loved to stay out and enjoy being downtown, but our current budget responded with a resounding “hell nah” to that option.

photo(48)

Plus, I would have missed out on the opportunity to pick and choose my very own six pack (which, by the way, I got two beers into and promptly fell asleep). And yes, I was sitting on a scooter. But no, I didn’t actually ride around on it, okay? There just wasn’t a seating area near the RedBox. (Kroger, if you are reading this, there should be.)

photo(51)

This morning, we did a lot of cleaning. We cleaned clothes, washed dishes, and organized our junk rooms spare bedrooms. We had to make room in one of them for a bedroom set that my cousin was tired of storing for no reason. The only problem? No one dusted it first. And I have terrible allergies. So now I’m sitting on the couch waiting for the chance to breathe and hoping this headache will pass soon. The worst part? Ryne and I had plans to run together today. I love running with him and he went without me. So if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be busy crying a river.

5 responses to “Sushi, Six Packs, and Sneezes

  1. Bahaha, the Sarah McLaughlan thing cracked me up. I turn that commercial off in a heartbeat every single time. Gets to me.

    I hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  2. Love Make UR Own 6 Pack…. of course we dont get that anymore in Trinidad…but it’s so fun! xoxo from Trinidad.. I surfed awesome today..just posted – you have to check it out!! xoxo

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Haha you guys sound just like Will & I! We both insist so strongly that we don’t care about where we eat– but nobody ends up picking. I always use the whole “You’re the man! You decide!” argument and that usually works.

    You should try it!

  4. Mmmm your sushi roll looks delicious! I love the ‘all out’ rolls myself 🙂 and Buddy is SO cute!! What a sweet picture of you and him.

  5. I had a necessary date night/splurge yesterday, too! Much needed and so amazing! Glad you had a good night, and hope the allergies are better!

Leave a Reply

