Whole Wheat Protein Waffles

Last night my husband was out playing poker at a friend’s house, my dog was asleep, and I was ridiculously bored. Don’t worry, though, I had big plans for myself. One of our wedding gifts was a Cuisinart Belgian Waffle Maker. It was time to bust that baby out for my very own waffle party! I played around and made a few different types of waffles, but my favorite was a simple whole wheat batter with added protein in the form of cottage cheese. I had two waffles last night for “dessert.” This morning, I woke up craving them again.

SAM_3170

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles (adapted from the Cuisinart recipe booklet)

Ingredients (makes 4 waffles):

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2  to 1 tablespoon liquid sweetener
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat waffle maker to a medium-high setting.
  2. Combine oats, flour, baking powder, and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
  3. Blend cottage cheese, egg, milk, sweetener, and vanilla until smooth.
  4. Add blended mixture to dry ingredients and mix until all ingredients are well incorporated.
  5. Pour batter into waffle iron and cook for 5-7 minutes.
  6. Eat them things, girl!

After breakfast, I headed to the grocery store to get a few things for the upcoming week. A few things quickly turned into everything I passed. My trick for grocery shopping is that I never go hungry. Well, that didn’t work today. After forking over my life’s savings, I came home and played in the kitchen with all my new goodies! I’m really excited about a few of the things I made, so I’ll be posting some recipes soon. Smile

Several hours later, I realized I had almost wasted the entire day in the kitchen. I decided to actually get my butt in the gym today! I could feel myself slipping into an exercising rut, so I just promised myself I could take it easy today. I never want working out to become a chore. At the gym, I ran an easy three miles and did a quick ab circuit. Done and done.

photo(53)

By the time I was done at the gym, it was time to shower and head to my grandma’s for dinner. We had a good time, but now I’m beat! I’ve got to get to bed because tomorrow is my first official day of the school year. Teachers have to report this week, but the students start next week. I’m in serious denial that the summer is over.

Have a great night, y’all!

4 responses to “Whole Wheat Protein Waffles

  1. Those waffles look yummy! A waffle iron is on my ‘to buy’ list – we also need a new blender because I may or may not have dropped it in the kitchen? Ooops.

    Good luck tomorrow! Looking forward to hearing how it goes 🙂

  2. Now I want a waffle! I haven’t had one in so long. I may need to get a waffle iron. 🙂

    Have a great first day back!

  3. Mmm, protein waffles. I just made pancakes for breakfast and they were good…but not as good as the last batch I made a few weeks ago. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to make another batch in the near future!

  4. Pingback: Cranberry Pineapple Breakfast Bake |

Leave a Reply

