When It Rains…

I’m stressed out beyond any point I’ve ever been before.  I’m one of those people that lets it build and build… until it’s completely out of control. This past week:

  • My husband and I decided we need to drastically scale back on our budget. I know it’s such a trivial thing, but it’s stressful none the less.
  • I started a new job in a grade I have no experience in and I’m starting to feel the pressure. I feel inadequate.
  • I found out that my grandmother has cancer in her lungs, liver, and adrenal glands. I feel bad that I haven’t been spending time with her lately.

When it rains, it pours. 

(Luckily, I had a bachelorette party to attend in Charlotte this weekend that helped me take my mind off of it all… for the most part. Saturday I ended up calling a friend at home and balling my eyes out. I just needed to get it out of my system. And I wasn’t about to unload it on my friend who should be having one of the most fun weekends of her life.)

I know that many people around the world are going through things that are much tougher than anything I have ever dealt with. I don’t want to sound like I think that my life is in total shambles, because it’s not. Hell, my grandma is taking this like a champ. I’m just not dealing with it all properly. I don’t know what to do. I don’t feel like myself right now.

As I type this, I’m so thankful that I have this little blog as an outlet. It’s definitely already helping me calm down and I appreciate the fact that you guys let me unleash all of my whining on you! I will elaborate on most of the things I’ve mentioned, but for now I’m going to try to unwind and get ready for school tomorrow. I’m going to try to kick some serious ELA and Social Studies butt!

12 responses to “When It Rains…

  1. Money is such a stressful thing, especially at this age, because it doesn’t seem like anyone has any. But truthfully, some of the most fun nights I’ve had were some of the most inexpensive.
    Maybe you haven’t had any experience in the grade you are currently teaching, but think of all the experiences you’ve had in your life that have shaped who you are, and undoubtedly prepared you to be the best teacher out there. You have a unique set of qualities that no one else has 🙂
    I’m very sorry to hear about your grandmother. I’m glad she’s taking it like a champ. There’s no use worrying about the past, just focus on the present
    ❤ hope you have a better week

  2. Everything will work out, my dear! Keep your head up and stay strong! Don’t forget we are all here for you! Sending prayers your way!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m so sorry that you’re having a difficult time, Presley. Life does tend to throw us some intense lemons at times but we just need to power through it and remember that if there were no such thing as difficult times, the amazing times wouldn’t mean nearly as much.

  4. -Hugs- Let those around you be your strength when you don’t feel that you have any of your own.
    …Those first few weeks of teaching are tough just because it’s new and it is your first time experiencing EVERYTHING! I wouldn’t have made it without the hours and hours on the phone to my sister.
    I’ll send up a prayer for your grandmother & your family too. Isn’t it crazy how the ones who should be hurting the most are the ones with the most strength?! -She must be a great lady!
    –Unload on us, we’ll listen any day… 🙂

  5. I’m glad your blog can be an outlet for you, too… and it sounds like you have amazing friends, family, and a supportive husband. Keep your pretty chin up, chica!

  6. We chatted a bit last night but if you need anything let me know! You are going to do amazing things with those 4th graders! Prayers are with your grandma … her positive attitude is awesome! Chin up and know you have friends if you need them 🙂

  7. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother and everything else. I’m sure it will all work out in the end (it always does, right?). As for the teaching – I’m certainly no expert (well, i’m not even a teacher) but I know you’ll get into the swing of things and you will be great!! Starting a new job is tough, but you learn so much so fast (that i do know!). Good luck with everything! All of us understand the need to get pent up emotions out.. and we’re all good listeners!

  8. I’m so, so sorry to hear about your grandmother. 😦 I know everything will work out, just take some time for yourself, and know that you’re doing your best. Things will look up soon, girly! Sending you lots of good thoughts and prayers. ❤

  9. Pingback: Tackling Stress + Wedding Wednesday |

  10. I will send up some prayers for your grandmother & u & your family. As for all the other stuff it will all work out. They gave you the job so I know in no means are you inadequate. We all saw how much time & effort your put into your classroom so there is no doubt that you won’t do it with your students. Good thoughts your way ❤

  11. Pingback: Accountability + Wedding Wednesday |

  12. Pingback: Accountability + Wedding Wednesday | Run Pretty

Leave a Reply

