Accountability + Wedding Wednesday

I’ve been making a lot of excuses lately. You should see the piles of laundry and dishes I have yet to put away. I have boxes full of “stuff” in my car that I’ve been meaning to take to Goodwill for weeks. All the recipes I’ve been planning on making? Well, the ingredients are currently wilting (read: rotting) away in the fridge.

I’ve been lazy. There I said it. I’ve let my stress become a complete and total hindrance to living a normal life. I recently posted about beating my stress. And, for the most part, I did. But I’m still living like I was when my stress level was pushing me to my limit… yet this time I have no excuse. It’s time to just admit it: I’m in a rut. And I have nothing, and no one, to blame but myself.

It’s time for some accountability. I’ve been eating whatever and whenever I please. I baked a batch of cinnamon roll cookies this weekend. Who do you think ate them all? No wonder I’ve been feeling like shit lately (sorry, but there is no other way to describe it.) I know my eating habits are completely to blame. So, for at least a little while, I’m going to be posting my meals and snacks. I mean, if anything can keep me from grabbing that fourth cookie, having to publicly air it on the internet will. At least, I hope. Winking smile

Breakfast: English muffin with peanut butter and cottage cheese with cinnamon and frozen strawberries. I have a feeling this cottage cheese combo is going to become a habit. It tasted like cheesecake! Lumpy ass cheesecake… but cheesecake nonetheless.

photo(73)

Lunch: Salad with mixed greens, tomato, feta, broiled shrimp, and two hardboiled eggs. Hardboiled eggs are one of those hate it or love it items. I love them. Thank goodness, too, because they are such an easy way to pop in a lil’ extra protein.

photo(74)

My one mistake of the day? No real carbs at lunch. By the time I got home, the hunger monster was in full attack mode. I should have had a more nutritious snack, but my taste buds were screamin’ for some buffalo. Side note: I despise buffalo wings. Even when I ate more meat, I couldn’t stand them. Eating meat off of the bone gives me the willies. Gross.

photo(72)

Dinner: Annie’s Whole Wheat & White Cheddar Shells with some roasted veggies. Hit the spot. Well, it did after I had myself a second bowl. Look, once the hunger monster is allowed to roam free, that beast doesn’t slow down.

photo(76)

Workout: 3 miles on the dreadmill. I’m counting down the days until I can run outdoors again… It’s still hotter than hades here!

2011-08-31_2112

And now it’s time for another pointless wedding re-cap! Really, there is no substance to the following portion of this post. Just gratuitous dessert and drinking photos. I wish I would have known that I would be blogging about these events. I would have actually taken more (and better) pictures!

Anyway, moving on… I was fortunate to have an absolutely amazing bridal luncheon. My maid of honor (far right) is a member at Sage Valley and her family graciously offered to host my luncheon there. Only three of my bridesmaids were able to make it. The other two definitely missed out. Sorry suckas! Winking smile

032

035

You’d think my mom would let me know my hair was out of control. But whatever.

036

I’d take a million bad hair days in order to enjoy one slice of this ridiculous cake.

251051_10100247362974537_12635074_50019761_1445818_n

This is my all-time favorite cake. By far. I’ve got the recipe in my possession… but I’ve yet to make it because a few of the ingredients aren’t really my thing (like gelatin). But if I don’t make it, it isn’t in there. Right? Kind of like calories.

027

After my bridal luncheon, I headed home and rested for a few hours before riding over to our rehearsal dinner. I don’t have pictures of the actual rehearsal. To sum it up, it was quick and I got really sweaty. That’s what she said.

Back to the dinner…

040

039

043

Sadly, that’s the only picture of the food I managed to snag. But I had scallops… and they were delicious! After dinner, we partied a little too hard and took a lot of pictures. (In case you were wondering, I think everyone changed clothes after lunch but me. Fashion fail… story of my life.)

052

And then we lost Spears… and promptly found him in the next room. Alone. Naturally we decided that he must model for us.

263005_10100247363383717_12635074_50019780_2869530_n

Ow, Ow!

260124_10100247363747987_12635074_50019794_4985127_n

Work it, playboy!

259938_10100247363817847_12635074_50019797_7846080_n

Sorry, Ryne.

261874_10100247363897687_12635074_50019801_1026937_n

You can take a picture with him, too.

261818_10100247363673137_12635074_50019790_1725510_n

Now, get the hell out of the way. It’s the girls’ turn! (How psychotic do I look?)

263761_10100247364172137_12635074_50019816_1149090_n

After this, we lost Logan for a little while. Then BAM… we found her. So creepy.

260023_10100247364641197_12635074_50019835_5679288_n

All in all, I had a great time. And also realized why I love my friends. They are all as weird and awkward as I am.

10 responses to “Accountability + Wedding Wednesday

  1. I weirdly posted about accountability the other day. It’s hard to keep up with clean living when things start to pile up and you have all these responsibilities that don’t seem to end. It’s my 4th year in the classroom, and I am freaking out about the kids showing up next week. Hopefully this gets easier over time? I’m all about publicly posting my bad behavior. I’ve put down many a tasty sandwich or cupcake because I realized I would have to take a picture and post about it later. Good luck!

  2. mmm your salad looks so good! And I’ve never thought of putting cinnamon in cottage cheese? yum! (i laughed out loud at the lumpy ass cheesecake comment, by the way). Good luck getting back into the healthy eating routine! I have really off days when I’m stressed, but i’d say it’s allowed every once in a while :)

    • It’s good!!! Try it… (I almost started typing up a Dr. Seuss quote right there… Green Eggs and Ham… I NEED a break from the classroom. Thank God this is a long weekend!)

  3. I’ve struggled with the eating thing lately too… I’m blaming the depressing weather changes. :) I know you’ll feel better soon…just takes a few days of eating better! At least that’s how it seems to go with me. Don’t be too hard on yourself though!

    Haha, I love the pictures! Your friends look like so much fun!

  4. You’re funny! “No other words to describe…” – those are always the best ones to post! Seriously! You need to shut that mouth of yours because you look good no matter what (what you eat, what you wear haha). And please, I eat more than I should plenty of days in the week…but thank you for the honesty; I think it’s important in the blogging world :)

    • I feel bad when I cuss. But I do it anyway. haha some things are worthy of a good ol’ curse word!

      And by the way, when I need motivation I just look at your wedding pictures. I mean DAMN girl! :) (see, I NEEDED to cuss there.)

  5. Oh. My. Gosh. That cake looks amazing!!! And I know how you feel about accountability. I have been eating everything in sight lately and need to take the time to slow down and eat healthfully again!

    • Yeah, I really don’t know what has gotten into me. I’m a human vacuum right now… that only sucks ups junk food. These past few days have helped though!

Leave a Reply

