Baby M: 22 Weeks

Our baby boy is 22 weeks. Time is flying right now… it seems like just yesterday we found out we were going to be parents. Man, I feel old! ;)

What’s baby up to? According to MSN Health, “The senses your baby will use to learn about the world are developing daily. Taste buds have started to form on the tongue, and the brain and nerve endings are formed enough so that the fetus can feel touch. Your baby may experiment with this newfound sense of touch by stroking his or her face or sucking on a thumb, as well as feeling other body parts and seeing how they move.”

I just die picturing him playing around in there. Too funny. I also learned he is about 11 inches long and weighs close to a pound. Although, I think he is probably a little bigger than that by now, because he was nearing that weight a few weeks ago! My husband, Ryne, is 6’4″ so I hope Baby M inherits some of his size… however, from the birthing aspect that could be potentially brutal. Ryne weighed 10 lbs at birth!

I could ramble on for days about the things that are happening right now with me, but let us just put it in list format, shall we? (I copped Madeline‘s style and used many of her topics. Such a cheater, I know.)

Weeks: 22 weeks

Total Weight Gain: I’ll update after our doctor’s appointment tomorrow! :) Let’s just say, I’m well into the double digits. (Update: My official 22 week weight gaine: 22 pounds! I had only gained four pounds in the last month though, so I think it’s leveling off a bit.)

My Body: No stretchmarks just yet (although I thought I spotted one the other night and cried for an hour… sad, right?) and I still have a deep abyss bellybutton!

Maternity Clothes: I’ve been wearing maternity pants/shorts/dresses; still squeezing into pre-pregnancy shirts and tanks. When I look at other people’s belly pictures, I feel huge compared to them. I’m growing the hulk in there.

Cravings: Does EVERYTHING count? Specifically speaking, I’m on a spice kick right now. Bring the heat!

Sleep: What is sleep? Where can I buy some of that? Between my sciatic nerve, Baby M playing the bongos on my bladder, and my dog tossing and turning all night… I really don’t get much shut eye.

Baby Items Bought/Received: Crib… Our first baby purchase!

Best Baby Moment: Ryne can regularly feel Baby M’s kicks now. So cute.

Goals: I really want to start working out again. After my morning sickness subsided a few weeks ago, I started walking and lightly lifting weights again with Ryne. Unfortunately, it’s been really hard to get this habit to stick. This weekend we are going to set up the treadmill, so maybe that will help give me the kick in the butt I need!

Worries: How Buddy, our puppy, will react to having a brother. I’m not exaggerating when I say that this dog is the neediest animal on the planet. At least he’s kinda cute. I love him, crooked ear and all.

13 responses to “Baby M: 22 Weeks

  1. You look adorable!!! And I bet Buddy will love the little one! My family dog adores babies and gets overprotective of them.

  2. Holy crap, you’re right, your dog is adorable. I just remember the puppy pics from before!!! Holy sh*t about your hubby being 10lbs..do you ever watch ‘How I met your mother?!’ and Lily joking abut giving birth to a watermelon…oh dear, I’m sorry…that was the rudest thing I’ve ever said to you lol.

    You look amazing and once I’m preggers, one day, I’ll steal those Q’s from you to answer…like a chain reaction ;) haha

  3. i have a doctor appt tomorrow as well (17.5w) i’m a little nervous to get on the scale this time too… but You look lovely!

  4. I love your pup’s crooked ear too! What a cutie. You look glowing and happy. Can’t wait to hear more updates!

  5. Aww, you are so adorable! Congratulations!! :)

  6. Aw, what a sweet picture! Time IS flying by and before you know it, you’ll be holding your son in your arms! :)

Leave a Reply

