Sincerely, Reality

Dear Presley,

I know you have big dreams of being an all-star pregnant woman. You want to eat whole foods, run everyday, and be an all-around hot mama. Guess what? It ain’t happenin’!

Sincerely,

Reality šŸ™‚

Okay. I’m dramatic. But I really do feel like I’ve been smacked in the face with a huge dose of pregnancy reality. I always pictured myself as one of those girls who breezes through pregnancy… with a cute little basketball belly. But that’s just not how it has been for me.

I had big plans for myself. Which, looking back, the word “plans” shouldn’t have even been in my vocabulary. You just can’t make plans for a huge change like this. Pregnancy is physical, mental, emotional… the list goes on. You just can’t be prepared.

I had always been sure I would be able to continue with my normal routine. Eat right, workout, you name it. At first, it seemed like this might be the case!

Reality was about to wipe that smirk right off my face! About two weeks before I found out I was pregnant, Ryne and I ran our first 5K. We went with a few friends, partied it up in Charleston, and ran the race for fun. Through some miracle, we ended up placing first in our respective age/sex categories (yes, it was a very small race).

Our first race was in the books! And it felt great. After we found out I was pregnant, we started debating whether or not we should run the half-marathon we had planned. In the end, we decided that I was prepared enough to attempt it.Ā  We ran the Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon in Savannah, GA when I was around 7-8 weeks. It was amazing!

After running two successful races, I was sure I could keep it up. Unfortunately, my body had other plans. Morning sickness to be exact. I could barely function, let alone run. To top it all off, fresh veggies repulsed me. What did I crave? Chips. Sprite. French Fries. Anything with no color or nutritional value. (Thank God for prenatal vitamins.) I was sick, but I was gaining weight rapidly. The only thing that kept me from puking was snacking. How cruel, right? I ate junk all day, everyday. When chips and Sprite wouldn’t do the trick, I had Jolly Ranchers to keep me company. I felt horrible and looked horrible. Mentally I was already over being pregnant.

Now I’ve been feeling so much better, so I hope I can get on track. I’ve already been eating MUCH better. Now I just need to get moving! If you mamas have any tips on getting back into working out after a long break, please let me know!

 

9 responses to “Sincerely, Reality

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Pregnancy is really one of those things that girls make tons of expectations for, but really have no control over haha. It’ll all be worth it when the little one arrives šŸ™‚

  2. I think you look beautiful! Just keep trying to get back on track (remember Charlotte, in the Sex and The City Movie)?

  3. Are you going to try running again? I don’t know how it works for how long you can run before you’re no longer allowed (is it bad that my only reference is Charlotte in the Sex and the City movie getting over her running fear?! haha). I’d say rule #1 (yes, RULE), don’t beat yourself up if you set out to do a workout and only get 80% done. Whether you like to believe it or not, you look amazing for that basketball you’re carrying around!

    Plus, there’s always after he’s born to have bonding time with dad while you get out of the house!! haha

  4. Cutest blog ever! Thanks for sharing! I can relate as a runner and in my first trimester. I’m doing all the things I said I’d never do, junk food, skipping work outs etc…

  5. Pingback: Running During Pregnancy |

Leave a Reply

