Positive Changes + Race Temptation

The past few days have been going really well for me. I’ve been feeling more energized, healthy, and more like myself. I think working on my eating habits and working out are really making a difference. If there is one thing I have learned so far, it is that it’s never too late to make a change. I assumed that it would be much more difficult to get back on track during this pregnancy, but it has actually been an easier change. Obviously, a lot of that has to do with the disappearance of my morning sickness (hallelujah!) and the return of my energy. (The second trimester was cruel to me in the beginning, but it is definitely showing all the signs of letting up now!)

Now that I’m feeling much better, I’m starting to have some urges I haven’t had for a while. The first was the urge to run again. The second urge I’ve been having is the urge to race! I don’t know if this is normal, but I really want a chance to take part in another race during this pregnancy. I had a great time during the RnR Half in Savannah, and I really want a chance to do something exciting again!

There are a few things that have me seriously considering racing. 1.) I would be running a 5k, which is a distance I’d be comfortable with. 2.) It would be local. 3.) Ryne would run it with me. 4.) I’d be running for fun, so there would be absolutely no pressure. I also have decided that if I sign up for the race, I must also be fully prepared to either walk it or not participate at all. I’m just so hopped up on veggies right now that I want to RUN! 😉 (Seriously though, I feel like I look like the potato right now…)

(source)

Now I have a question for y’all: What would YOU do? I want to hear as many opinions as possible!

8 responses to “Positive Changes + Race Temptation

  1. I vote you take that plunge, lady!! It sounds fun, it sounds like something you wanna do, and as you said, no pressure!

    Plus, that potato looks adorable.

  2. I would do it! It’s a 5k and you’ve done a half!

  3. SIGN UP!!! I need to sign up for a few races asap!!! Maybe I’ll come to Savannah! haha

  4. Do it – like you said, you can totally walk it if you want! 🙂

  5. Run or walk and enjoy the 5k the best way you can when the day comes! Listen to your body. I’m relieved that you are feeling better as the pregnancy progresses! It gives me hope. I ran today for the 2nd time in two weeks. My previous training plan often had me running 2 times a day! But like you my energy levels are improving and my nausea seems to be lifting. Can’t wait for your next blog!

  6. I am 24.5 weeks and i get the bug so often now that the weather is nicer to run long…but i just cant do it now with the added pressure of the belly (baby) I start to get sharp pains when I do! BUT I signed up for a half marathon in the fall and cannot wait to start training!

Leave a Reply

