Cravings + Avocado Wrap and Pasta

I know pregnancy cravings affect some women more than others. Well, they have completely taken over my life. If I have one tiny bite of anything that makes my taste buds happy, I am hooked. The severity and length of each of these food obsessions varies, but for the past few days I’ve been on an avocado binge. It’s real. It’s happening. I’m totally okay with it.

It all started with an innocent purchase: one small avocado. I don’t even remember the last time I bought one, but I’m so glad I did. I couldn’t decide what to make with it, so I started brainstorming. I thought about making my Fiesta Avocado Hummus, but I didn’t want to clean the food processor. I thought about dreaming up some new and delicious recipe, but I didn’t want to waste the brainpower (I’m running low). Then I remembered a wrap I had last Spring. I couldn’t remember all of the ingredients, but I remembered avocado, quinoa, and Annie’s Goddess Dressing. I had all three! Don’t you love moments like that? They are kitchen miracles.

Green Goddess Quinoa Wrap

Ingredients (makes 1 wrap):

  • 1 whole wheat spinach wrap
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Annie’s Goddess Dressing
  • 1 handful fresh spinach leaves
  • 1/2 an avocado, chopped
  • assorted veggies,  chopped (I used carrots, cukes, and red onion)

Directions:

  1. Combine quinoa and dressing.
  2. Layer all ingredients on wrap. Roll it up!
  3. Eat!

This will become a go-to school lunch for me for sure. I bet the flavors taste better the longer they all hang out together, too! Yum.

Were my cravings satisfied? Not a chance! I still had half of an avocado left anyway. You just don’t waste avocados. I had a package of spinach pasta sitting around in the fridge, and that pasta most defintely needed a sauce. I wanted something fresh and somewhat light. I had an avocado, basil, parmesan cheese, and a few other random things that were close to the brink of refrigerator death.  I threw them all into my Magic Bullet (what? I still didn’t want to have to clean the food processor!) and prayed for another kitchen miracle.

Avocado Alfredo-Pesto Sauce

Blend together:

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 2 large handfuls basil leaves
  • 1 tablespoon pine nuts
  • 4 tablespoons fresh grated parmesan
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • enough EVOO until desired consistancy

This is definitely one of those “adjust according to taste” recipes. This is just how I preferred it. Make it your own!

You would think that after all that, I’d be done with avocado. You would be wrong. My avocado love spell has not yet been broken… and I’ve already purchased another one. The vicious cycle continues. 😉

6 responses to “Cravings + Avocado Wrap and Pasta

  1. Now I’M craving avocado – can I come over for lunch?

  2. Ya, me too!! I was just reading an article about the goodness of avocados and thought how I haven’t had one in over a week – that’s a long time in my household. Now, I’m going to go out and buy 7. Why 7? Why not 7…

    Hopefully I can come up with some drool-worthy recipes too…and if I don’t, just expect a knock on your door from me, accompanied by a very heavy suitcase!!!

    • hahaha please post some avocado recipes!! I’m addicted right now…

      I’d love for you to show up! The Masters are right around the corner, you should visit! 😉

  3. Oh my gosh – I have all of these in my kitchen. I’ve been dreading making quinoa for the first time (don’t know why) but I think I’ve just been inspired. Thanks Ms. Presley! ~Megan

Leave a Reply

