Old Folks + The Indoor Bore

Today I actually made it to Costco. I said I was going yesterday, but it never happened. Not much at all happened. But I did have crab legs for dinner, so that’s a win.

This morning I had the same exact breakfast that I’ve had for three days in a row. Waffles two ways!

After breakfast, I gave the dog a bath, gave myself a bath, and made Ryne take a bath. Clean family = successful morning. πŸ˜‰ After we were all spiffed up, we finally headed to our favorite weekend destination: Costco. Ryne said that being excited for a Costco trip just shows how old we are… I agreed, but I love our old folk’s lifestyle. We started out by sampling a few “appetizers”. I grabbed a cup of veggie soup that resembled baby food and a slice of French bread from two different stands. That’s Costco savvy right there…

Then we hit up the food bar for a slice of pizza. When in Rome, right? I got half way into that slice and threw in the towel… too much cheese and grease!

When we returned from our home away from home, Ryne and I geared up for a much needed workout. We started outside, but quickly returned because of the wind. And there it was: the dreadmill. I haven’t been on one in months, and I hadn’t missed it! It’s even more torturous now that I move at a snail’s pace. I actually don’t mind running on the treadmill when I need to track my speed or run intervals. But running at a slow and steady pace is mind-numbing. Maybe I’ll just save the treadmill for incline walking intervals during this pregnancy? Might be slightly more exciting.

20120304-175525.jpg

By the way, let’s play “How old is that treadmill?” If you answered “ancient”, you win! It has been at my grandmother’s, on my sister’s porch in Charleston, and in my garage. (I have big plans for updating our gym, but we have so much we need to do in the house that I’m just overwhelmed!)

20120304-154640.jpg

Now that we’ve worked out, I’m tired! We’re going to take it easy for the rest of the evening. After all, tomorrow it’s back to work. WHY do weekends have to end?

20120304-153157.jpg

15 responses to “Old Folks + The Indoor Bore

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m with you Presley, I dread the treadmill each and every time and will only use it if I absolutely HAVE to! And I love your cute little home gym πŸ™‚ Definitely something I’d love to have in a future home of mine

  2. I hate the treadmill so, so much. But, I honestly will not run outside when I think my house is cold, when in reality, outside is much, much worse. Probably why I didn’t drive to the gym today – 2 treadmill runs in one week was enough for me. Plus, eating is so much more fun!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I wish I had a costco near me!! I guess I am an inner old person too LOL!

  4. I’m pretty sure that’s the same treadmill I have in my gym. If it’s not broke don’t fix it is what I say.

  5. I would be one happy, happy lady if the weekends never ended! Also, I cannot wait until I have my own place to set up a home gym. That is my life’s goal…to be able to enjoy exercise within my home πŸ™‚

    • Especially in the winter! I hate having to bundle up to drive to the gym… It annoys me to have to cover back up after getting all sweaty! Ha that’s probably a random reason to have a home gym…

  6. My husband & I love taking trips to “bulk stores” like Costco! You find the best stuff… including yummy samples!

  7. I love store samples!! I don’t remember the last time I had Costco pizza – maybe a few years back? Other less greasy pizza w/more ingredients is honestly so much more yummy!! But right now I am hungry and that pizza is looking pretty good haha

Leave a Reply

