Cranberry Pineapple Breakfast Bake

I’ve been going, going, going lately. (I’ve also been growing, growing, growing… but that’s a whole other story!) I find myself rushing in the mornings, and unfortunately, a quality breakfast is one of the first things that goes out the window. Obviously, that’s not a good thing! So a few nights ago, I baked up a breakfast that I could have for the next several mornings. I was originally just going to make a batch of these waffles, but I was afraid they would get soggy in the fridge. I did refer to the recipe, however, and threw together some things on a whim. It worked out perfectly!

Cranberry Pineapple Breakfast Bake

Ingredients (makes 2 servings):

  • 1 cup rolled oats (I used quick cooking)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax + 3 tbsp water)
  • 1 6oz container 2% Pineapple Chobani
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoon honey (separated)
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a small loaf pan.
  2. Combine oats, flour, and baking powder in a small mixing bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flax egg, yogurt, almond milk, vanilla, and 1/2 tablespoon honey.
  4. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients.
  5. Evenly spread 1 tablespoon of honey and cranberries into the bottom of loaf pan.
  6. Pour batter into pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.

I made this breakfast bake with three of my all-time favorite brands! Just wanted to give them a little shout-out, because I use them all the time.

Yesterday, I started my day with part of this bake. I crumbled 1/4 of the bake on top of a Strawberry Chobani. I also added some extra dried cranberries and a drizzle of honey. Amazing.

After work, I quickly ate dinner and headed to the gym to meet up with my friend Logan. I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I was so nervous! I hadn’t taken the belly out like that in public. I’ve been running and lifting at the house, so this was a big change for me. I don’t know why I felt so self-concious, but it really threw me off at first. I’m so glad my first trip back to the gym was with a friend. It made it so much better!

We ran/walked for about 40 minutes and then did a quick upper body workout. Of course I made time to goof off in between sets. (Yes, I can only manage about 20 lbs right now. Just shows how big a difference a few months off can make!) I don’t know if the man in the corner is annoyed or amused.

After the gym, I had a huge craving for FroYo! I asked my husband to bring me a small bowl. This is what he brought me. He’s a comedian. It did actually end up being the perfect amount, though, so the joke’s on him! 😉

After my little treat, I played with the Budster and went to bed. Overall, I’d say I had a pretty productive day.

What did YOU accomplish yesterday? (I’m sure it was more than I did! haha)

8 responses to “Cranberry Pineapple Breakfast Bake

  1. Yesterday I took a rest day because I’m so sore. But Wednesday was my first bootcamp class ever. It was awesome! Your belly is adorable. You should be proud of how well you are taking care of yourself during your pregnancy.

  2. That’s fantastic that you got to get in a little gym time, and the breakfast bake looks yummy! I’m in charge of making a french toast casserole (never made one before, can’t imagine it’ll be too tough) that I volunteered for on a whim for St. Patrick’s Day booze brunch!! Fingers crossed it goes as well as your fruit-astic bake.

    • I only have a SUPER unhealthy recipe for french toast casserole. Let’s just say it involves an entire bottle of corn syrup. Paula Dean would be proud.

  3. I did a quick speed run and then decided to do a crossfit workout after…that was NOT a smart move on my part. I was so wiped out from the run, that crossfit was a struggle the whole time. My time was the slowest one of the day, needless to say haha

  4. The breakfast bake looks fantastic! I love the texture yogurt gives baked goods.

  5. You are so cute! I feel the same way when I go to the gym, glad I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

