Cashew Cranberry Oatmeal Bites

I mentioned these “cookies” the other day… and I’ve finally gotten around to posting a recipe! I’m the definition of a slacker. There are a few things you should know about these: 1.) they are not your grandma’s oatmeal cookies 2.) they are healthy 3.) they won’t last long! These bites are more muffin-like than anything else, but they are so good. Seriously, you won’t care if they are a cookie, muffin top, or “bite”. You’ll just eat them!

Cashew Cranberry Oatmeal Bites

Ingredients (makes 12 cookies):

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tablespoons ground flax + 6 tablespoons water)
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup each: dried cranberries, white chocolate chips, chopped cashews

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon in a medium-sized mixing bowl.
  3. In a separate small mixing bowl, combine flax eggs, applesauce, vanilla, and honey.
  4. Mix wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  5. Fold in cranberries, white chocolate chips, and cashews.
  6. Place 12 equal spoonfuls of dough onto a greased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 18-20 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

The best part of not using eggs in a cookie recipe? You can eat the batter. I’m not saying that I did. I’m just saying you could. (Hint: I did.)

5 responses to “Cashew Cranberry Oatmeal Bites

  1. Yum! I’m always game for a new cookie/muffin/bite recipe! 🙂

  2. You don’t have to twist my arm!! I may or may have not done this on Saturday night with oatmeal raisin cookies. But they were the same sorta thing…blobs more or less lol. They tasted so good though – I knew they would be good because the batter was good…or what I would have guessed if I had eaten the batter…like you didn’t do either!

  3. I am obsessed with cashews – definitely over rated in my book! Love the recipe!

  4. Cranberries and cashews make the perfect combo! YUMMYYYYYY

  5. Pingback: Double the Love! |

Leave a Reply

