Sweet and Spicy Teriyaki Tofu

Last night I had quite an adventure. I went shopping for my Foodie PenPal. It was hard! But I grabbed a few goodies and headed home… Or so I thought. Ryne called me and requested lobster ravioli with vodka sauce. I had to make a pit stop at Costco (not that I’m complaining!). Well, while I was there I was run over slammed into at full speed by an older lady on a motorized scooter! Y’all I couldn’t make this up if I tried. I’m still laughing/pissed off about this event… So I’m going to skip a “real” post today. I will give you a delicious recipe, though! Sounds fair, right? πŸ™‚

Sweet & Spicy Teriyaki Tofu

Ingredients (serves two):

  • 1 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Sriracha
  • 1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 block extra-firm tofu, pressed and cubed
  • 1/2 cup red bell pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup asparagus, roughly chopped
  • 1 to 2 cups steamed rice, quinoa, etc.

Directions:

  1. In a small sauce pan, bring teriyaki sauce, honey, garlic, sriracha, and sesame oil to a boil. Boil until reduced (about 15-20 minutes).
  2. While waiting for sauce to reduce, add olive oil, pepper, mushrooms, and asparagus to a medium-sized fry pan. Cook over medium heat until slightly browned.
  3. Add tofu cubes and cook over medium-high heat until browned and slightly crispy. Pour reduced sauce over tofu and vegetables.
  4. Serve immediately over steamed rice or quinoa.
  5. Immediately start cooking your next batch! πŸ˜‰

Substitutions: You could use 1/2 cup soy sauce (or aminos), 1/2 cup Mirin cooking wine, and a pinch of sweetener in the place of the teriyaki sauce. The tofu could be replaced with practically any protein. You could obviously replace any veggies according to taste as well. (This would also be amazing with a little fresh ginger and sesame seeds! I just didn’t have any.)

Ryne actually requested chicken for his dish. I aim to please, but chicken just grosses me out! I hate having to sanitize the entire kitchen after cooking. Anybody with me on that? Not sure if I’m just lazy, but it kills me everytime! Anyway, here was Ryne’s meal. Basically the opposite of mine…

We did both grub out on edamame, though. I love those little suckers.

This really is the perfect at-home-take-out! Yes, I think I made that phrase up, but it’s true! This meal will have you feeling like you’re dining out… for cheap! πŸ˜‰

2 responses to “Sweet and Spicy Teriyaki Tofu

  1. Wow! That certainly looks yummy! How do you prepare edamame? Yes, I really am that naive.

Leave a Reply

