Don’t Let It Beat You

On a scale of one to ten, yesterday was a negative nine. It was just one of those days. I had some not so nice things said about me at work. Not about my work ethic. Not about my teaching style. Not about my abilities. I was gossiped about because of something totally childish and immature. Behind my back. I kid not. The cure for a bad day? Grapes and fruit dip, a comfy bed, and a snugly pup… obviously!

20120319-192420.jpg

Yes, I cried. Yes, I sulked. (I’m just going to blame the hormones…) Then I realized I needed to grow up and move on. I can’t let a bad day yesterday ruin my day today.

Would showing up to work today with a chip on my shoulder solve anything? Of course not. It would just prevent me from having a good day today. That got me thinking of other things I’ve allowed a “bad” day to ruin.

Running: I don’t even want to think about how many times I’ve let a bad run ruin future runs. “Oh, I can’t run that hill. It killed me last week!” “I’m not a good sprinter.” “I’m over the treadmill.” I’ve made so many excuses based on past runs, that I’ve probably missed valuable opportunities to prove myself wrong.

Cooking: I know I’m not a terrible cook, but there are certain dishes that absolutely frustrate me. I’m not kidding when I say that I’ve attempted to boil eggs once. It didn’t go well at all. I like boiled eggs, but they beat me. And you know what? I’m going to give it another shot, even if it kills me. Seriously, they’re just eggs.

Pregnancy: Pregnancy is harder for me than I could have ever anticipated. It’s gotten so much better lately, though. I’ve been feeling better, working out, and eating (mostly) healthy foods. But I still find myself doubting if I’ll want to go through it again. I haven’t even had my first child! What the hell do I know? I need to stop beating myself up over occasionally forgetting my pills, skipping a workout, or eating a bowl of ice cream. I definitely don’t need to continue feeling defeated.

People let bad days get in the way of so much. Diets, exercise, work… They can all bring you down if you let them. Don’t! I know it’s easier said than done, but it really is worth the effort in the end. Remember: one day doesn’t change much. So you had three ginormous cookies at 4am? Who cares? (Actually, I’m jealous.) Make smarter choices tomorrow. So you ran 2 miles instead of 5? You ran two miles! Congrats! So you screwed up today at work? Forget it, and make an effort to learn from the mistake. Always take the positives from the negatives.

All I’m saying is this… You are given a limited number of days in this life. No one said you had to carry along the crappy days with you as you go. Drop the baggage. It’s not worth it, but you are worth it. Make today a great one! 🙂

(And that was your cheesy public service announcement for the day. I’m sure I’ll be back to normal soon!)

11 responses to “Don’t Let It Beat You

  1. Love this! I am really, really bad at letting every little mistake get to me. It’s something I’m constantly trying to work on!

  2. char eats GREENS

    I must admit, I’m a sucker for letting bad days get to me. I wish I could remain positive all the time, but then what would be the point of having a husband who does that for me?!

    I feel kind if ‘blah’ today, so I need to get out of this…sure have a whooole lot of studying ahead of me!

  3. Oh my goodness I love this post! I think I may include it in my post today because I just love it so much!! What a great attitude you have about it!

  4. One of my friends/coworkers gave me a great motto while I was stressed over wedding planning: “Decide to be happy”. No matter what other people do, no matter what happens during your day, make that decision – and don’t let anyone change your mind! 🙂

  5. Pingback: A Big Decision | life after swimming

  6. i’m so sorry you had a rough day! but your positive attitude is awesome, and everything you’re saying is so true! it’s easy to let a negative situation ruin your entire day or week, but you just can’t let it do that. i hope today is going better for you! 🙂

  7. I’m so relieved to hear someone else say what I’ve been thinking out loud! I haven’t even gotten through this pregnancy and I already have serious doubts about whether or not I ever want to go through this again! It seems so silly to feel this way. The first trimester was awful. Not just being sick and feeling tired but I was VERY depressed. The moods and hormones were ridiculous. I am so relieved to be feeling better. I’m almost even feeling like I’m getting into the “glowing” stages of pregnancy and I can actually imagine voluntarily signing up for this again…
    I truly enjoy your blog. Your energy and attitude are very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

