Whole Wheat Strawberry Lemonade Waffles

This weekend was the busiest one I’ve had in a while! Between decorating, cleaning, shopping, fishing, and party throwing… I’m spent! I didn’t even get a chance to post anything yesterday. Oh well. You win some, you lose some. Anyway, the “party throwing” was really just a small Mary Kay party. My friend Logan sells makeup and skin care, so I had her over to get her sell on with some of my family and friends. Isn’t she cute?

I didn’t snap any pictures of the snacks, but I set out plenty of fruit, veggies, and chips with a few yummy dips. Aren’t snacks the best part of a party? Well, goody bags are nice, too! Logan gave me this cute little trial-size kit of skincare products for hosting the party. She’s the best… My skin needs some serious help right now. Baby hormones are ridiculous!

Before the party, I made some delicious waffles! I guess I should have added cooking to my list of activities, too. My idea of weekend entertainment sure has changed recently.

The stars of the show:

These waffles really good! They were full of flavor, so they didn’t really need much in the way of toppings. I added some fresh strawberries, a sprinkle of sugar, and a drizzle of honey to mine. (My sweet tooth was raging, so they probably didn’t even really need that!)

Whole Wheat Strawberry Lemonade Waffles

Ingredients (makes 4 waffles):

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (or 1 egg)
  • 1 6 oz container of 0% Lemon Chobani
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup diced strawberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat waffle maker to a medium-high setting. Spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Combine oats, flour, and baking powder in a medium bowl.
  3. Mix in yogurt, flax egg, almond milk, honey, lemon juice, and vanilla.
  4. Fold in strawberries.
  5. Pour batter into waffle iron and cook for 5-7 minutes.
  6. Eat up!

Oh, and I would never make this mistake, but make sure you remember to spray both sides before you pour in the batter. Just saying… Not that I would know. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 responses to “Whole Wheat Strawberry Lemonade Waffles

  1. I haven’t had waffles in forever & these are making me want some! A waffle maker is one of the few appliances I don’t own!

  2. Those are the coolest things EVER! I never get creative when making waffles but these sounds awesome!!! Thanks for the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

