WIAW + Wedding Wednesday

Happy Wednesday! We’re halfway through the work week and halfway to the weekend. This weekend Ryne and I are running a local 5k, and I can’t wait! Anyway, Wednesdays are also fun because of all the amazing WIAW posts we get to drool over. I only have one day’s worth of eats recorded: Sunday’s. I guess I have no other choice but to turn my WIAW into a WIAS. Forgive me. 🙂

Breakfast


Breakfast was a two-egg scramble with spinach, tomatoes, red pepper, and goat cheese. Served up with apple slices and peanut butter.

Lunch

Lunch was leftovers from this meal from Red Bowl. I shared a Hungry Hunter roll with Ryne and decided on the Seafood Clay Pot for my meal. It was actually really good! Of course I had a fortune cookie for dessert. 🙂

Dinner

For dinner I made a quick “pizza” with a Flatout wrap, marinara, mozzarella and goat cheese, spinach, red pepper, onion, and tofu. I’ve been making a lot of these lately!

Now let’s move on to one of the best culinary weeks of my life: our honeymoon. Ryne and I vacationed for a week in St. Maarten. Sure, the beaches were beautiful and the company was great, but the best part of our trip was the food. Even the “shacks” we ate in were out of this world! I didn’t have the blog at the time, so I didn’t take pictures of my food… just trust me. I will, however, recap the rest of the trip! (Be prepared for a ridiculous amount of pictures of us. We were obviously loving ourselves that week. Shameful.)

The first thing we did was throw down our bags, throw on our swimsuits, and head out to our balcony.

Check out our view! It was so beautiful there. The weather was perfect and the water was crystal clear.

After we soaked in our new surroundings, we headed to the pool… where yet again, we had another amazing view! (Yes, this will be a trend.)

Most days we spent a few hours by the pool before venturing around the island. One of our favorite beaches was the one that was parked right next to our hotel. It was a very small, private beach shared by only a few hotels. There were never more than a handful of people out there at a time.

I even (sort of) got in the water. If you know me, you know I do not do oceans. Ever. I had enough guts to wade in until a man saw a huge barracuda a little ways off shore. I know enough to know that they are fast and have sharp teeth. Call me paranoid, but I’d like to keep my fingers and toes.

We headed into the busier, more tourist-driven side of the island several times. This is where the cruise ships ported, so there were tons of duty-free shops, cheap liquor stores, and recognizable chain restaurants. We didn’t do much of our eating there, but it was fun to walk around the more crowded parts of town.

Takeout beers? Don’t mind if I do. But what is 99 dollar cents? Hmm…

Which way is home?

Most of the time, we ventured into the lesser developed areas. They were prettier, less crowded, and had better food! One particular day we found a fun little spot to explore. We drove for a few minutes past our hotel and found a little fishing cove.

(Side note: Driving in St. Maarten is a totally frightening experience. There seems to be absolutely no enforcement of any type of law: speeding, drinking, etc. Our rental car was also the size of a tricycle, so that didn’t help either. Ryne couldn’t even drive it. Which, obviously, left me as the captain. It’s a miracle we survived. The views were nice, though!)

Okay, back to the cove.

Near these fishing boats was the most amazing spot we found on the trip. We spent a good hour or two walking around in the shallow water in awe. I felt like a little kid!

Ryne climbed up and down the rocks. I thought it looked dangerous. (I guess another theme of this vacation is that I’m a wuss.)

Speaking of climbing, we also did a little hiking. Once again, I’m at the bottom looking up.

The whole trip, Ryne was the daring one. That is, until we went to the beach by the airport. I guess I should explain. Along with no safety regulations while driving, there are also no rules surrounding the airport. Planes land directly over the beach, and you can literally almost reach up and touch them as they land. It’s ridiculous. You can also be blown over by the jet engines as they take off in the other direction.

Death? Okay, I’m trying it. Seriously, how does someone that won’t get in the ocean or climb up a measly rock decide to be blasted by a jet engine? Alcohol, that’s how. There is a bar conveniently located right next to that threatening sign. The bar has totally accepted its fate as the “plane bar”, because it displays the arrivals and departures as well as plays the signal from the airport towers throughout the day. (Also, how many Vanna White-esque photos can I take in one trip? Embarrassing.)

Notice how crowded it is right there on that tiny beach and tiny strip of road? Apparently, the planes are the biggest draw to the entire island. It is pretty awesome, so I can see why.

These pictures don’t do the experience justice at all. I have a few videos that show it better, but just search for “St. Maarten plane landing” or “takeoff” and you’ll understand! Oh, and the food at the bar was amazing to boot. Can’t beat that!

Our two other favorite restaurants on the island were Big Fish and Bistrot Caraibes. They both had great food and excellent service! I loved eating fresh seafood at every meal! 🙂

Overall, we loved our honeymoon. It was the perfect trip for us… there was so much to explore, do, and eat! I would definitely recommend visiting St. Maarten. If you are planning a trip there, let me know. I’d love to tell you about all of the things we found to do (and things we realized we shouldn’t do)!

10 responses to “WIAW + Wedding Wednesday

  1. I’d love to visit somewhere tropical again soon! I went to Aruba with my family in highschool and it was amazing.

  2. This honeymoon looks FANTASTIC!! I know that, on mine someday, I hope for good food, adventure, and LOTS of sunshine!! Who could ask for anything more?

  3. you two are an adorable couple! 🙂 looks like a wonderful honeymoon!

  4. char eats GREENS

    Wow looks so nice. I won’t let my husband see the picture where yours is wearing a Masters hat. hahaha

    You guys are gonna have one super cute baby!!!!

  5. I LOVE that blue dress…where did you get it??

  6. Your honeymoon looks fabulous! And I’m so jealous of your tan! Also – CONGRATS on the little one!!!! For some reason I wasn’t getting updates on your blog in my Google Reader but all is fixed now!

Leave a Reply

