My Body Is Like George Clooney

This post will make sense, I promise. Okay, I think it will. Listen, George Clooney is a talented actor. (A very attractive talented actor. Can I get an amen?) Anyway, he has played many roles throughout his lifetime, and he’s played most of them really, really well.

What does this have to do with my body? Well, yesterday I had the misfortune pleasure of going bathing suit shopping. At 27 1/2 weeks pregnant, this is a little different than any bikini shopping I’ve done in the past. At first, I really let it get me down. I mean, hello, I look like an over-inflated pool toy. (Side note: I’m not carrying the baby in my thighs, so why did they have to turn into tree trunks?)

It didn’t help that I remembered a photo I had taken on my last bathing suit shopping trip. (The sad thing is, I judged my body so harshly back then. I wasn’t “muscular enough”. I know now to love what ya got!) Nothing like a trip down pre-pregnancy body memory lane. It was painful. My feelings were hurt. I felt like a failure for allowing my “baby weight” to take over my entire body.

But you know what? My body is like an actor. I’m just playing a different role now. Before, I was training my body for speed, strength, and fitness. Now, I’m training my body to build a life. Post-pregnancy, I’ll be working toward sustaining a life.

Will I ever look the same as I did in my debut “role”? Who knows. But I do know that I’m on my way to a very rewarding experience. Who needs an Emmy or an Oscar? I’ll have a family. A life to support. I’ll be a mom. Do I want to “get my body back”? Um, hell yeah. But no matter what my body ends up looking like, I’ll know it has done some amazing things. It doesn’t get much cooler than that. (So eat your heart out, Clooney!)

Basically what I’m saying is… you better rep that body! You are beautiful. Be confident. Know that each day you wake up, your body is working for you. Which also means you better do your best to work for it, too! Every workout, every meal, and every moment is a chance to treat your body with respect. The better you treat it, the better it will treat you!

Have you treated your body well today? Tell your body how sexy and powerful it is right now! πŸ˜‰

11 responses to “My Body Is Like George Clooney

  1. This is a wonderful way to look at pregnancy! I’ll try to remember this, as well!

  2. great outlook! i think you look great! like a happy mama πŸ™‚

  3. char eats GREENS

    Good tips…plus props for actually putting on a 2 piece. I don’t think I’d be showing my stomach to myself, let alone the whole world haha. You are beautiful though. Seriously, you’ll be one of those girl’s that I’m like whoa, she just snapped back to pre-preggers look!

  4. This is a great post Presley! It’s definitely important to remember to not mentally beat ourselves up so much, no matter where we’re at with our body!

  5. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion)

    first of all, you look gorgeous! πŸ™‚ secondly, i LOVE this post. so true, and it’s so important (and HARD) not to constantly beat ourselves up. our bodies do absolutely incredible things!

  6. What an amazing post! I love the way you think, girl πŸ™‚ I LOVE IT!

  7. ittybitsofbalance

    This is a great post. We can become SO brainwashed into thinking that its what our bodies look like that matter, but really it’s about what they do! You’re creating a beautiful life inside of that tummy, and I couldn’t think of anything more gorgeous πŸ™‚

  8. Loved this post. Plus, girl, you are smoking in both those photos! Beauty!

  9. Great post. Plus, you are smoking hot in both those photos! So you have nothing to worry about!

  10. Pingback: Hilton Head Island + Body Image |

  11. Pingback: Hilton Head Island + Body Image | Run Pretty

Leave a Reply

